### MEDICAID BULLETIN

Last Updated: 08/30/2022

# Consumer Directed and Agency Directed Personal Care, Respite Care, and Companion Care Update Effective January 1, 2022

The purpose of this bulletin is to inform providers of agency and consumer-directed personal care, respite and companion services in the Home and Community Based Services (HCBS) waivers and Early Periodic Screening, and Diagnosis and Treatment (EPSDT) program that the temporary 12.5 percent HCBS rate increase described in the October 6, 2021 Medicaid bulletin shall become permanent effective January 1, 2022 in accordance with Item 313 #SSSS.3 of the 2021 Appropriations Act.

Per the October 6th bulletin, "Agency-directed and consumer-directed personal care, respite, and companion services will receive the temporary HCBS rate increase until December 31, 2021, at which time the permanent 12.5% rate increase will be implemented. This action is in accordance with the 2021 Appropriations Act as amended in the Virginia General Assembly Special Session II." The rates for the temporary HCBS rate increase and the permanent increase remain the same for these services. Permanent personal care, respite, and companion service rates are in the following table:

Agency Directed				
Procedure Code	Service Description	Location	Rates Effective 1/1/2022	
T1019	Personal Care	NOVA	\$20.27	
T1019	Personal Care	ROS	\$17.22	
T1005	Respite Care	NOVA	\$20.27	
T1005	Respite Care	ROS	\$17.22	
S5135	Companion Care	NOVA	\$20.27	
S5135	Companion Care	ROS	\$17.22	

Consumer Directed				
Procedure Code	Service Description	Location	Rates Effective 1/1/2022	
S5126	Personal Care	NOVA	\$15.30	
S5126	Personal Care	ROS	\$11.81	
S5150	Respite Care	NOVA	\$15.30	
S5150	Respite Care	ROS	\$11.81	
S5136	Companion Care	NOVA	\$15.30	
S5136	Companion Care	ROS	\$11.81	

#### Personal Care, Respite and Companion Care Rates Effective January 1, 2022

This bulletin serves as the official notification that personal care rates effective January 1, 2022 are posted on the DMAS website at <a href="https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/long-term-">https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/long-term-</a>

https://dmas.virginia.gov

#### Suite 1300 Richmond, VA 23219

## **MEDICAID BULLETIN**

care/waivers/. Corrections or revisions will be noted at the bottom of the official rate sheet. If you have any questions regarding personal care rates please contact the DMAS Helpline at 1-800-552-8627.

PROVIDER CONTACT INFORMATION & RESOURCES				
Virginia Medicaid Web Portal				
<b>Automated Response System</b>				
(ARS)				
Member eligibility, claims status,	www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov			
payment status, service limits,				
service authorization status, and				
remittance advice.				
Medicall (Audio Response				
System)				
Member eligibility, claims status,	1 000 004 0720 07 1 000 772 0006			
payment status, service limits,	1-800-884-9730 or 1-800-772-9996			
service authorization status, and				
remittance advice.				
KEPRO				
Service authorization information	https://dmag.kapro.com/			
for fee-for-service members.	https://dmas.kepro.com/			
Provider Appeals				
DMAS launched an appeals portal				
in 2021. You can use this portal to				
file appeals and track the status of	https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/appeals/			
your appeals. Visit the website				
listed for appeal resources and to				
register for the portal.				
Managed Care Programs				
Medallion 4.0, Commonwealth Coordinated Care Plus (CCC Plus), and Program of All-				
Inclusive Care for the Elderly (PACE	E). In order to be reimbursed for services provided to a			
managed care enrolled individual, p	roviders must follow their respective contract with the			
managed care plan/PACE provider.	The managed care plan may utilize different guidelines			
than those described for Medicaid fee-for-service individuals.				
Medallion 4.0	http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/#/med4			
CCC Plus	http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/#/cccplus			
PACE	http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/#/longtermprograms			
Magellan Behavioral Health	www.MagellanHealth.com/Provider			
Behavioral Health Services	For credentialing and behavioral health service			
Administrator, check eligibility,	<u>information, visit:</u>			
claim status, service limits, and	www.magellanofvirginia.com, email:			
service authorizations for fee-for-	$\underline{VAProviderQuestions@MagellanHealth.com, or}$			
service members.	Call: 1-800-424-4046			



# **MEDICAID BULLETIN**

Provider HELPLINE Monday-Friday 8:00 a.m5:00 p.m. For provider use only, have Medicaid Provider ID Number available.	1-804-786-6273 1-800-552-8627
Aetna Better Health of Virginia	www.aetnabetterhealth.com/Virginia
	1-800-279-1878
Anthem HealthKeepers Plus	www.anthem.com/vamedicaid
	1-800-901-0020
Molina Complete Care	1-800-424-4524 (CCC+)
	1-800-424-4518 (M4)
Optima Family Care	1-800-881-2166 www.optimahealth.com/medicaid
United Healthcare	www.Uhccommunityplan.com/VA
	and www.myuhc.com/communityplan
	1-844-752-9434, TTY 711
Virginia Premier	1-800-727-7536 (TTY: 711), <u>www.virginiapremier.com</u>