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INTRODUCTION  

The Virginia Medicaid Program is dependent upon the participation and cooperation of 
Virginia physicians who provide health care.  

The physician is responsible for certifying that the service is medically necessary and 
that the treatment prescribed is in accordance with community standards of medical 
practice.  

COPIES OF MANUALS  

DMAS publishes electronic and printable copies of its Provider Manuals and Medicaid 
Memoranda on the DMAS Web Portal at 
https://www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov/wps/portal.  This link opens up a page 
that contains all of the various communications to providers, including Provider Manuals 
and Medicaid Memoranda.  The Internet is the most efficient means to receive and review 
current provider information.  If you do not have access to the Internet or would like a 
paper copy of a manual, you can order it by contacting Commonwealth-Martin at 1-804-
780-0076.  A fee will be charged for the printing and mailing of the manuals and manual 
updates that are requested.   

    

SERVICE AUTHORIZATION  

Refer to Physician/Practitioner provider manual, Appendix D for details regarding 
service authorization instructions, timely submittal, retroactive reviews, criteria, 
procedure codes and other pertinent information.  

PHYSICIAN'S ROLE IN RENDERING SERVICES  

Physician services are those services provided within the scope of professional license.  
These services must be rendered by or under the supervision of an individual licensed 
under State law and, including care delivered by physician assistants, are to be billed by 
the physician who renders the service.    In those instances where coverage is provided 
by a physician other than the patient's regular physician, the actual provider of services 
must be a participating Medicaid provider in order to bill for services performed even 
though he or she may not be the patient's regular physician (e.g., "covering physicians" 
must bill for the services they personally render).  Additionally, physicians are required 
to maintain records detailing the nature and scope of the health care provided to Medicaid 
members.  Entries in patient records must be signed by the physician rendering the 
service (name and title) and dated (month, day, year) on the date of service delivery.  

https://www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov/wps/portal
https://www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov/wps/portal
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Dates may not be typed onto medical records in advance of the signature. Care rendered 
under the supervision of the participating provider must be countersigned by that 
provider.  

Out-of-State Physicians  

 Out of state providers (non-participating, enrolled) are held to the same service 
authorization processing rules as in state (participating, enrolled) providers and must be 
enrolled with Virginia Medicaid prior to submitting a request for out of state services to 
DMAS Service Authorization contractor, KePRO.  If the provider is not enrolled with 
Virginia Medicaid, the provider is encouraged to submit the request to KePRO. KePRO 
will pend the request back to the provider for 12 business days to allow the provider to 
become successfully enrolled.  Providers will not be penalized if DMAS does not process 
the enrollment request within 12 business days.    

If KePRO receives confirmation of the provider’s enrollment with Virginia Medicaid 
within 12 business days, the request will then continue through the review process and a 
final determination will be made on the service request. If the request was pended for no 
provider enrollment and KePRO does not receive confirmation of the provider’s 
enrollment within the 12 business days, KePRO will reject the request back to the 
provider, as the service authorization cannot be entered into MMIS without the providers 
National Provider Identification (NPI). Once the provider is successfully enrolled, the 
provider must resubmit the entire request. Timeliness from the prior submission will not 
be considered with the re-submission.  

Any provider not enrolled with Virginia Medicaid may do so by going to  

https://www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov/wps/myportal/ProviderEnrollment. At 
the toolbar at the top of the page, click on “Provider Services” and then “Provider 
Enrollment” in the drop down box.  It may take up to 10 business days to become a 
Virginia participating provider.  

(Note:  If specific physician services required by the member are available in Virginia 
within a reasonable distance from the member's home, the member should not be referred 
to an out-of-state physician.)  

Physician's Role in the Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment 

(EPSDT) Program  

The EPSDT benefit provides preventive health care to individuals (from birth up to age 
21) eligible for medical assistance.  The purpose of the EPSDT benefit is prevention of 
health problems through early detection, diagnosis, and treatment.  The goal of the 
EPSDT benefit is to promote a medical home so members can receive both sick and well-

https://www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov/wps/myportal/ProviderEnrollment
https://www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov/wps/myportal/ProviderEnrollment
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child care from the same provider.   EPSDT screenings are Medicaid’s well child visits 
and should occur according to the DMAS periodicity schedule included as Appendix 1 
under “Exhibits” of the EPSDT Supplement.      

Any physician enrolled as a provider in the Medicaid Program to provide physician or 
clinic services can provide EPSDT screening services.  See Supplement B to this manual 
for details on EPSDT coverage and billing.  

The EPSDT screening is a comprehensive health screening/well-child examination.  The 
comprehensive health screening/well child visit content should be in line with the most 
current recommendations of the “American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP), Guidelines 

for Health Supervision”.  Another resource for preventive health guidelines is the AAP 
compatible “Bright Futures: Guidelines for Health Supervision of Infants, Children, 

and Adolescents”.  All components of EPSDT screenings, including specimen 

collection, must be provided during the same screening visit.   

EPSDT Screening Services   

Required EPSDT screening components include:    

 A comprehensive health and developmental history (including assessment of both 
physical and mental health development);  

 A comprehensive unclothed physical exam;  

 Vision screening by a standardized testing method according to the DMAS 
periodicity schedule;  

 Hearing screening by a standardized testing method according to the DMAS 
periodicity schedule;  

 Developmental screening with a standard screening tool according to the 
American Academy of Pediatrics guidelines;      

 Age appropriate immunizations as needed according to the Advisory Committee 
on Immunization Practices (ACIP) guidelines;   

 Laboratory tests (including lead blood testing at 12 and 24 months or for a new 
patient with unknown history up to 72 months or as appropriate for age and risk 
factors);  

 Health Education/Anticipatory Guidance/problem-focused guidance and 
counseling.  

 The chart below indicates when a child should receive an EPSDT screening:  
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INFANCY  
EARLY 

CHILDHOOD  

LATE 

CHILDHOOD  
ADOLESCENCE  

  

1 month  

2 months  

4 months  

6 months  

9 months  

12 months  

  

15 months  

18 months  

2 years  

3 years  

4 years  

  

5 years  

6 years  

8 years  

10 years  

  

12 years  

14 years  

16 years  

18 years  

20 years  

 

Billing for Hearing, Vision, and Developmental Screenings During the EPSDT Well 

Child or Problem Focused Visit  

Objective hearing screening (CPT code 92551), vision screening (CPT code 99173), and 
developmental assessment (CPT code 96110) procedures performed using a standardized 
screening method on the same date of service as a Preventive Medicine E&M will be 
reimbursed separately when Modifier 25 is used along with the appropriate E&M code 
for that visit.  

Other Necessary Health Care, Diagnostic Services and Treatment Services – 

Specialized Services  

As with all Medicaid services, any limitation that the state imposes on EPSDT services 
must be reasonable and the benefit provided must be sufficient to achieve its purpose.  In 
addition, the state must provide other necessary health care, diagnostic services, 
treatment and other measures listed in the Federal Medicaid statute, to correct and 
ameliorate defects and physical and mental illnesses and conditions discovered by the 
screening services, whether or not they are covered in the state Medicaid plan. The non-
state plan services are called Specialized Services.  Please refer to the EPSDT 
Supplement and other EPSDT manuals to find more information about the EPSDT 
Specialized Services.  
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Physician's Role in Home Health Services  

Home health services provide periodic nursing care and therapy under the direction of a 
physician.  Such services are provided by participating home health agencies and can be 
used effectively by the physician for post-hospital care and periodic nursing care.  The 
Medicaid Program will reimburse home health agencies for necessary services 
prescribed by the physician. The practitioner performing the face-to-face encounter 
must document the clinical findings in the individual’s medical record and communicate 
the clinical findings of the encounter to the ordering physician. For the home health 
services that exceed five (5) visits and require service authorization, home health 
providers will be asked, during the service authorization process, to “attest” that the 
face-to-face encounter requirement was met.   

The face-to-face encounter may occur through telehealth, which is defined as the real-
time or near real-time two-way transfer of medical data and information using an 
interactive audio/video connection for the purposes of medical diagnosis and treatment 
(DMAS Medicaid Memo dated May 20, 2014). Telehealth shall not include by 
telephone or email. See the Home Health Manual for additional information.  

PHYSICIAN'S ROLE IN THE PRESCRIPTION DRUG PROGRAM  

Prescription drugs are covered under the Virginia Medicaid Program.  The physician's 
normal procedure for prescribing drugs should be followed.  However, the prescriber's 
National Provider Identifier (NPI) number must be included on all prescriptions for 
Medicaid members including those serviced by Health Maintenance Organizations 
(HMOs).  

The prescribing of drugs should be in accordance with community standards of medical 
and pharmacy practices and consistent with economy.  Virginia Medicaid requires the 
use of generic drugs where possible.  Physicians may specify a brand name only when it 
is medically necessary.  In acute illnesses, prescribed drugs should be limited to the 
quantity needed for the course of treatment for the illness.  Maintenance drugs for chronic 
illnesses should be prescribed in quantities according to treatment needs.  

Coverage and Limitations  

Prescription services are provided to Medicaid members. Please see the Pharmacy 
Manual under Chapter IV.  Providers are referred to the Preferred Drug List (PDL) for 
verification of covered drugs, and Physician requirements.  
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PROGRAM COVERAGE  

Introduction  

The Medicaid Program is designed to assist eligible Medicaid members in obtaining 
medical care within the guidelines specified in this manual and the State Plan.  Allowable 
Medicaid reimbursement is based upon medical necessity.  Medicaid defines "medically 
necessary services" as those services that are covered under the State Plan and are 
reasonable and necessary for the diagnosis or treatment of an illness or injury, or to 
improve the functioning of a malformed body member.  Coverage may be denied if the 
requested service is not medically necessary according to the preceding criteria or is 
generally regarded by the medical profession as experimental or unacceptable.  

Scope  

"Physician Services" are defined as services provided within the scope of a physician's 
professional license as defined by Virginia law.  These services must be rendered by or 
under the supervision of an individual licensed under State law to practice as a doctor of 
medicine (M.D.), or doctor of osteopathy (D.O.), and are to be billed by the physician 
rendering the service.    

In billing for covered services, the Department of Medical Assistance Services requires 
the use of codes and definitions published in the Physicians' Current Procedural 
Terminology, Fourth Edition (CPT), which has been incorporated into the federal Health 
Care Financing Administration Common Procedure Coding System, or HCPCS (for 
clarity, this combined coding system is identified as "CPT/HCPCS"). The physician is to 
select from the CPT/HCPCS book the procedure code which most appropriately 
describes the service rendered and documented.  Definitions and descriptions of levels 
of service contained in the introduction to the CPT/HCPCS are to be used when 
determining the level of service to be billed.  These same definitions and descriptions 
will be used to evaluate documentation during program audits of medical records.  (See 
also the section on documentation). Copies of the Physicians' Current Procedural 
Terminology, Fourth Edition (CPT) may be obtained from:  

Order Department:  OP054192 

American Medical Association  

P.O. Box 10950 

Chicago, Illinois 60610 

 
Payments for physician services are made only when medically necessary for the 
diagnosis and treatment of an illness, injury, restoration of a body function, family 
planning, or maternity care. Patient records must document fully the extent of all services 
which are rendered and billed to the Program.  These records must be made available for 
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inspection by an authorized Program representative and/or federal personnel when 
requested. Failure to do so may result in termination of the provider participation 
agreement.  

Benefit and Coverage Limitations  

The following services are covered under the Virginia Medicaid Program only when 
provided in accordance with the limitations and requirements specified.  

Anesthesia  

A qualified provider may submit charges for anesthesia administration only under the 
following conditions:  

 The cost of the anesthesia services is not included as an expense item in 

the hospital reimbursable cost report and the hospital makes no charge for 

the service; and,  

 

 The anesthesia is personally administered by a physician who remains in 

constant attendance during the surgery; or,  

 

 The anesthesia is administered by a Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist 

in accordance with the supervision and practice requirements as 

established by the Board of Nursing.  

 

 In a hospital setting, the services are provided in accordance with the 

Department of Health’s hospital licensure requirements.   
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Anesthesiology' services are paid for by units of time - one unit for each 15 minutes or 
fraction thereof for the surgical procedure performed.  When billing for anesthesiology, 
use the CPT/HCPCS anesthesia code for the procedure performed and insert the time 
units in Locator 24G of the CMS1500 (08-05) (08-05) claim form.  The base unit 
(preoperative consultation with the patient) is included in the reimbursement and should 
not be included in the units of time for the procedure.  Example:  An anesthesiological 
procedure required one hour and 45 minutes.  Locator 24G would properly show seven 
(7) units.  (NOTE:  regarding the administration of epidural blocks, only those units of 
time during which the anesthesiology provider directly attended the patient will be paid.)  

Chemotherapy  

The combination of several procedure codes is required in order to bill for the 
administration of chemotherapy treatments:  

• The appropriate CPT/HCPCS chemotherapy administration procedure codes, 
9640196549   

• The appropriate HCPCS codes for chemotherapy drugs, J9000-J9999  

• The appropriate office visit (if applicable), procedure codes 99201-99215 (See 
the CPT/HCPCS book for additional listing.)  

The chemotherapy injection or infusion procedure codes are independent of the office 
visit.  These codes describe chemotherapy administration by a qualified assistant under 
the supervision of a physician or by the physician and include the necessary 
administration supplies and mixing agent.  The chemotherapy drug procedure codes 
describe the drug administered and do not include the chemotherapy administration or 
the office visit, if applicable.  

Physicians administering chemotherapy in their offices may bill for the appropriate 
chemotherapy administration (procedure codes 96401-96549), the appropriate procedure 
code for chemotherapy drugs (J9000-J9999), and the appropriate office visit (procedure 
codes 99201-99215), if applicable.  

Concurrent Care  

Payment for concurrent care will only be considered when more than one physician is 
actively engaged in the patient's treatment.  Each physician must sufficiently explain the 
condition or conditions for which treatment was rendered through the use of an 
attachment to the Health Insurance Claim Form, the CMS-1500 (08-05) (08-05) billing 
invoice  
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Consultations  

A service rendered by a physician whose opinion or advice is requested by another 
physician for the further evaluation or treatment or both of the patient is considered a 
consultation.  If such a service is provided and Medicaid is billed for this type of service 
more than once within a six-month period, justification must be furnished as an 
attachment to the CMS-1500 (08-05) (08-05) claim form, and individual consideration 
requested.  Enter "ATTACHMENT" in Locator 10D and enter procedure modifier "22" 
("Unusual Service") in Locator 24D of the CMS-1500 (08-05) claim form.  Consultation 
services should be billed using the appropriate CPT/HCPCS code.  If the consulting 
physician assumes the care of the patient, any subsequent services rendered will cease to 
be a consultation and should be billed according to the appropriate CPT/HCPCS 
treatment/visit codes.    

Referrals  

A referral is the transfer of the total or specific care of a patient from one physician to 
another and does not constitute a consultation.  Initial evaluation and subsequent services 
for a referral patient are to be billed according to CPT/HCPCS treatment/visit codes.  

Dental Services  

Any eligible member under 21 years of age can receive medically necessary dental care, 

such as preventive care, fillings, extractions, crowns, and prosthetics from participating 

dentists.  The member can be referred directly by the physician to any dental provider 

participating in the Doral Dental USA Program.   

Smiles for Children, for Medicaid, FAMIS, and FAMIS Plus children covers all children 
under age 21 and over will receive the same limited oral surgery benefits that are 
currently provided under the Medicaid program. The Smiles for Children office 
Reference Manual outlines procedures that dental providers should follow for services 
rendered. This manual and other important information can be accessed on Doral’s 
website at www.doralusa.com.  

 

End-Stage Renal Disease  

Medicaid has secondary coverage to Medicare for end-stage renal disease (ESRD) 
treatment.  Kidney transplantation when preauthorized by Medicaid and supervision of 
chronic hemodialysis are covered by Medicaid only when the patient is not eligible for 
Medicare benefits.  (Medicaid will withhold payment until a determination is made 
concerning the patient's Medicare eligibility.)  

http://www.doralusa.com/
http://www.doralusa.com/
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Professional staff in the Medicare-certified ESRD facility will have responsibility for 
management of the treatment program and will determine the appropriate type of services 
needed at any time, e.g., patient hospitalization.  

Dialysis centers enrolled in the Virginia Medicaid Program are responsible for 
submitting charges for outpatient and home dialysis services.  The provider must advise 
the Program as to whether or not the facility charges include the physician component.  

Eye Care  

Ophthalmologists and other physicians skilled in treatment of diseases of the eye and its 
appendages may provide eye care and treatment.  Eyeglasses for members under age 21 
are covered by Virginia Medicaid; however, no more than one pair will be allowed by 
Virginia Medicaid within a 24-month period without a statement of medical need 
submitted as an attachment to the CMS-1500 (08-05) form, and the word “attachment” 
written in block 10d. The refraction that is not covered by Medicare may be billed to 
Medicaid.  To bill Medicaid for the refraction, use CPT/HCPCS procedure code 92015 
(determination of refractive state) on the CMS-1500 (08-05) form.  Locator 11D will 
need to be indicated as a ‘Yes.’  

Contact lenses are not covered by Virginia Medicaid except as may be service authorized 
by   DMAS’ Service Authorization contractor.  Authorization will be based on medical 
necessity and that eyeglasses cannot accomplish the optometric treatment.   

Family Planning Services (Plan First)  

Plan First is the limited benefit Medicaid fee-for-service family planning services 
program. The purpose of this program is to improve birth outcomes and reduce 
unintended pregnancies. Men and women who meet the income level and meet 
citizenship and identity requirements may be eligible for Plan First. Individuals, who are 
eligible for full Medicaid benefits coverage, are not eligible to participate in the program.  
Refer to the Plan First Provider Manual available at http://dmasva.dmas.virginia.gov  for 
specific information about the Plan First program.   

Services to Promote Fertility  

The Virginia Medicaid Program does not cover services to promote fertility. If there is a 
disease of the reproductive system that requires treatment to maintain overall health, it 
will be covered.  Providers must submit sufficient documentation to substantiate the 
medical necessity of the procedure. To receive special consideration, providers must 
request individual consideration on the CMS-1500 (08-05) by attaching documentation 
to the claim form.  

http://dmasva.dmas.virginia.gov/
http://dmasva.dmas.virginia.gov/
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The following procedures are not covered by Virginia Medicaid for the purpose of 
promoting fertility:  

54900 Epididymovasostomy, anastomosis of epididymis to vas deferens, unilateral  

54901 Bilateral  

 55400  Vasovasostomy, vasovasorrhaphy  

58321 Artificial insemination; intra-cervical  

58322 Artificial insemination; intra-uterine  

58323 Sperm washing for artificial insemination  

58345  Transcervical introduction of fallopian tube catheter for diagnosis and/or re-
establishing patency (any method) with or without hysterosalpingography  

 58672  Laparoscopy, surgical with fimbrioplasty  

 58750  Tubotubal anastomosis  

 58752  Tubouterine implantation  

 58760  Fimbrioplasty  

 58770  Salpingostomy (salpingoneostomy)  

 58970  Follicle puncture for oocyte retrieval, any method  

 58974  Embryo transfer, intra-uterine  

 58976  Gamele, zygole or embryo intra-fallopian transfer, any method  

 89322  Semen analysis; volume, count, motility, and differential using strict 
morphologic criteria  

 89331  Sperm evaluation, for retrograde ejaculation, urine  

Free Services  

Services provided at no charge to the general public cannot be billed to Medicaid.  

Gender Dysphoria 

Covered services for treatment of Gender Dysphoria are outlined in the Gender Dysphoria 
Supplement. 

Hospital Visits  

Payment to physicians for inpatient hospital services is limited to the number of days 
covered by Medicaid for the medically necessary hospital stay.    

Payment to physicians for inpatient hospital visits conducted in acute general hospitals 
will not be limited by DMAS.  DMAS will be reimbursing hospitals based on AP-DRG’s 
payment methodology for the total hospitalization rather than a daily per-diem rate.  
Physician services provided for psychiatric care, either to members hospitalized in a free-
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standing psychiatric hospital or as part of a psychiatric unit of a general acute care 
hospital, the limitation of their services is related to the number of covered days 
authorized by Medicaid or the DMAS Service Authorization contractor.   

Radical or Modified Radical Mastectomy  

Coverage for a radical or modified radical mastectomy for treatment of disease or trauma 
of the breast shall be provided for a minimum of 48 hours.  Coverage for a total or partial 
mastectomy with a lymph node dissection for treatment of disease or trauma of the breast 
shall be provided for a minimum of 24 hours.  Additional days beyond the specified 
minimums for radical, modified, total, or partial mastectomies may be covered if 
medically justified and authorized.  Nothing in this manual shall be construed as 
requiring the provision of inpatient coverage where the attending physician in 
consultation with the patient determines that a shorter period of hospital stay is 
appropriate.  

Unauthorized inpatient services will not be covered or reimbursed by Medicaid.  

Regardless of service authorization, if the invoice reflects organ transplant, a sterilization, 
hysterectomy, or abortion procedure, the claim will pend for Medicaid manual review.  
If the required Medicaid form is not attached, the claim will be reduced or denied 
according to Medicaid policy.  

Maternity Care  

Antepartum care, delivery, and postpartum care should be billed as an all-inclusive, 
single unit ("global billing"), except when the antepartum care and the delivery are 
provided by different physicians or the member is enrolled as a non-resident alien (NRA).  
Antepartum care is not covered for these NRA clients.  Additionally, if the member 
changes benefit plans [i.e., fee-for-service or DMAS contracted managed care 
organization (MCO)] during antepartum care, i.e., prior to delivery, the provider should 
bill services according to the most appropriate CPT code definition according to the 
member’s benefit plan of coverage.  

As defined by CPT, Antepartum care includes the initial and subsequent history, physical 
examinations, recording of weight, blood pressures, fetal heart tones, routine chemical 
urinalysis, and monthly visits up to 28 weeks gestation, biweekly visits to 36 weeks 
gestation, and weekly visits until delivery.  Per CPT guidelines, Delivery services include 
admission to the hospital, the admission H&P, management of uncomplicated labor, 
vaginal delivery (with or without episiotomy, with or without forceps), or cesarean 
delivery.  Per CPT guidelines, postpartum care includes hospital and office visits 
following delivery.    



  
Manual Title  

Physician/Practitioner-Manual  

Chapter  

IV  

Page 

 

 

13 
Chapter Subject  

Covered Services and Limitations  

Page Revision Date  

5/19/2022 

If a physician provides all or part of the antepartum care, and/or postpartum care but does 
not perform the delivery, that physician would bill the antepartum and postpartum codes 
according to CPT guidelines.  

Charges for total maternity care are to be submitted only after the final postpartum visit.  
The Program recognizes that this will result in billing after the suggested 30-day timely-
filing period identified in Chapter V of this manual.  When billing for total maternity 
care, the date of delivery is to be used as the billing date (both "from" and "through" 
dates), using a one (1) in Locator 24G, "Days or Units," of the CMS-1500 (08-05) claim 
form.  In the event the member has changed benefit plans [i.e., fee-forservice or DMAS 
contracted managed care organization (MCO)] prior to the final postpartum visit, and the 
physician who did the delivery and provided the inpatient postpartum care is also 
providing the office postpartum visit, the coverage at the time of delivery will determine 
which plan (fee-forservice or MCO) is to be billed the global delivery/postpartum charge.  

Long Acting Reversible Contraceptives (LARC)  

Effective for dates of service on or after January 1, 2017, DMAS will reimburse for LARCs 
provided after delivery in inpatient hospitals.  Prior Authorization is not required.  Providers 
billing for the insertion of the device must bill on the CMS 1500 claim form using either 
11981 (implant insertion or 58300 (IUD insertion) depending on the device used.  The 
provider must use place of service Inpatient Hospital (21).  Providers will also be allowed 
to bill for and receive separate reimbursement for the applicable CPT code for the delivery.  

Inpatient Hospital and Early Discharge Follow-Up Visit Policy  

The 1996 General Assembly passed two bills that discuss allowable insurance provisions 
for the length of inpatient hospital stays for maternity cases (House Bill 87 and Senate 
Bill 148).  These bills require the Medicaid program to provide for inpatient lengths of 
stay in accordance with the Guidelines for Perinatal Care as developed by the American 
Academy of Pediatrics and the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists.  
The language also requires payment for follow-up as recommended by the attending 
physician in accordance with the guidelines.  

Medicaid covers maternity inpatient hospital charges as follows.  Medicaid covers the 
day of delivery plus an additional two days for a normal, uncomplicated vaginal delivery 
without requiring documentation of medical necessity.  Medicaid covers the day of 
delivery plus an additional four days without requiring documentation of medical 
necessity for cesarean births.  Claims for any additional days must be medically justified.  

If the mother and newborn are discharged earlier than 48 hours after the day of delivery, 
Medicaid will cover an early discharge follow-up visit as recommended by the physician, 
in accordance with the guidelines.  The mother and newborn must both meet the criteria 
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for early discharge to be eligible for the early discharge follow-up visit.  This early 
discharge visit does not affect or apply to any usual postpartum or sick/well baby care; it 
applies only to an early discharge.  The criteria for an early discharge are in the most 
current edition of the Guidelines for Perinatal Care.  

Psychiatric Services Under EPSDT  

Medicaid provides an all-inclusive rate to freestanding inpatient psychiatric hospitals for 
all services rendered to Medicaid children (up to age 21) under EPSDT.  The professional 
component for the psychiatric care may be billed separately by the professional who is 
enrolled in Medicaid.  Medicaid provides a per diem rate for inpatient residential 
programs.  The professional component for the psychiatric care and pharmacy and 
laboratory services are billed separately by the enrolled provider.  Please refer to the 
Psychiatric Services Manual for additional criteria and documentation requirements.  

Psychiatric Services  

For information regarding inpatient psychiatric services (including inpatient psychiatric 
services and freestanding inpatient psychiatric services) and outpatient psychiatric 
services, refer to the Psychiatric Services provider manual.  

Payment for psychiatric services is available within Program limitations as set forth 
within the Psychiatric Services provider manual.  

Services of Interns and Residents-In-Training  

The medical services provided by an intern or resident-in-training under an “approved 
teaching program” of a hospital are covered. An “approved teaching program” means a 
program approved by the Council on Medical Education of the American Medical 
Association.  

The services performed by interns and residents are reimbursable to the facility on a 
reasonable cost basis even though the intern or resident is a licensed physician. These 
services are not reimbursable on a fee-for-service basis as physicians’ services.  

House Calls  

Payment for house calls is limited to patients who are bedridden and for whom a trip to 
a physician's office would be detrimental to both safety and health.  CPT/HCPCS code 
99056 is to be used for billing mileage  
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Injections  

Reimbursement for the administration of a therapeutic injection is included in the office 
visit when a medical service is rendered.  When a therapeutic injection is the only service 
performed, an appropriate minimal office visit (e.g., CPT/HCPCS code 99211) may be 
listed in addition to the injection.  

To bill for the administered drug either:  

 Use the appropriate HCPCS "J" code in Locator 24D and the usual and 

customary charge for the injectable in Locator 24F of the CMS-1500 (08-

05) (08-05) claim form; or  

 Use the appropriate CPT/HCPCS code for a therapeutic injection (90772-

90779) with an attachment to the CMS-1500 (08-05) (08-05) listing the 

substance, quantity, and actual invoice for the cost of the drug.  

Laboratory and Radiology Procedures  

Payment for laboratory and radiology services will be made directly to the provider 
actually performing the service (i.e., physician, independent laboratory, or other 
participating facility). The ordering physician may bill for the handling of specimens sent 
to the laboratory when billed as a single unit using CPT/HCPCS procedure code 99000.  
Only one specimen-handling fee is allowed per office visit.    

Laboratory procedures performed by outside sources at no charge to the practitioner are 
not to be billed to Medicaid, and only a handling fee will be paid.  

Providers MUST put the Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendment (CLIA) number 
of the physician office laboratory (POL) performing the service in Block 19 (Reserved 
for Local Use) of the CMS -1500 (08-05) claim form, as mandated by the Health Care 
Financing Administration.  

Should the situation arise when multiple physician office laboratories are used for 
services for the same member, file a separate claim form listing the services that each 
laboratory performed and their applicable CLIA certificate number.  

For example, if Physician Office Laboratory A performs CPT code 88150, and Physician 
Office Laboratory B performs CPT code 81000, and medical services are also performed 
on the same member, submit a separate claim for CPT 88150 since the CLIA number 
will be different than for the physician office laboratory performing CPT 81000.  The 
medical services can be billed on either claim since the CLIA number is not applicable 
for medical services.  
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A claim will be denied if one or all of the following conditions exist:  

 There is no CLIA number on the claim, and the billing is for a laboratory service.  

 The CLIA number that is on the claim is invalid.  

 The CLIA number is valid, but the provider is billing Medicaid for a service that 
is outside of the scope of the laboratory’s CLIA certificate (e.g., the lab holds a 
Certificate of Waiver, and the provider is billing for a Physician Performed 
Microscopy Procedure).  

 The services that are being billed were rendered outside of the effective dates of 
the CLIA certificate.  

Providers who currently submit claims electronically should contact their service centers 
to have their software updated.  The CLIA number must be put in the FA0 Record, Claim 
Service Line Record, in field number 34.0 (CLIA ID NO).  

 Medicaid requires that the services, as defined in the CPT Manual, be billed using 
the appropriate panel code and not the code for the individual components.  

 For codes 80046-80076, if all of the components are completed, the provider must 
bill using the panel code that best defines the panel.  

 Whenever four or more components of a hemogram are performed, the 
appropriate hemogram CPT/HCPCS code must be used (85025-85027).  The 
appropriate CPT/HCPCS codes are to be used when specimens are tested using 
automated or manual equipment.  

 If fewer than four components of a hemogram are performed, bill for them using 
the appropriate individual CPT/HCPCS codes.  

Telemedicine Services  

Coverage of services delivered by telehealth are described in the manual supplement 

“Telehealth Services.” 

MCO contracted providers should consult with the contracted MCOs for their specific 
policies and requirements for telehealth. 

Tobacco cessation screening and counseling 

 Tobacco screening: If tobacco screening is conducted when another medical 

service is rendered, tobacco screening is not separately reimbursable.  When 
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tobacco screening is the only service performed, an appropriate minimal office 

visit (e.g., CPT/HCPCS code 99211) may be used.  

 Tobacco cessation: For those who use tobacco products, tobacco cessation 

counseling, as part of two tobacco cessation attempts per year, is covered.  Five 

tobacco cessation counseling sessions of at least 10 minutes each are covered 

without prior authorization as part of each cessation attempt, using CPT codes 

99406 or 99407 or HCPCS code S9446 under existing rates. Tobacco cessation 

counseling services are covered when billed with the ICD-10 diagnosis code 

F17.200 (Nicotine dependence, unspecified, uncomplicated) or Z87.891 (history 

of tobacco use).   For information on coverage of tobacco cessation 

pharmacotherapy, see the DMAS Common Core Formulary for covered Smoking 

Cessation agents at 

https://www.virginiamedicaidpharmacyservices.com/provider/preferred-drug-

list.  

Non-Covered Services  

The following laboratory and radiology services are specifically EXCLUDED from 
coverage and payment:  

 Tests performed on a routine basis but not medically indicated by the 

patient's symptoms.  

 Laboratory test professional component (CPT/HCPCS procedure modifier 

"26") for procedures performed in the physician's office, outpatient 

hospital, or in the independent laboratory.  Payment for supervision and 

interpretation is included in the full procedure payment.  

 Sensitivity studies when a culture shows no growth or urine cultures with 

contaminant growth (103 or less).  Payment will only be made for the 

culture.  

 Radiology procedure professional component (CPT/HCPCS procedure 

modifier “26”) is used only when billing for interpretation and reporting 

of x-ray.  The technical component (HCPCS/CPT procedure modifier 

“TC”) is used when billing for the use of the radiology equipment.  

 

COVERED SERVICES FOR MEDICAID EXPANSION  

Individuals covered by Medicaid Expansion may receive the following additional 
covered services:  

 Annual adult wellness exams  
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 Nutritional counseling for individuals with obesity or chronic medical diseases.  

These services are covered for pregnant women, members with Diabetes Type 1 

or Type 2, and members with a disorder of lipoprotein metabolism and other 

lipodemias.  

 Advisory Committee on Immunizations Practices recommended adult vaccines 

(members ≥ 21 years of age):  

o Coverage of the Shingles vaccine for members 50-65 years of age  

 

o Coverage of the HPV vaccine for members ≤ 26 years of age  

 

o Coverage of the Hemophilus influenza type B vaccine available for 

members with asplenia (either congenital or acquired), sickle cell 

disorders and stem cell  transplants  

 

o Coverage of the Meningococcal vaccine available for members with 

asplenia (either congenital or acquired), HIV infection, Persistent 

complement component deficiency (predisposes to lupus) and 

Eculizumab use  

 

o Coverage of the Hepatitis A or Hepatitis B vaccine is available for 

members on Dialysis, with chronic liver disease, acute kidney failure or 

chronic kidney disease   

PROCEDURES COVERED FOR A PATHOLOGIST OR LABORATORY OUTSIDE 

THE PHYSICIAN'S OFFICE  

Payment for the following tests will be made only to a pathologist, a hospital laboratory, 
or a participating laboratory.  Specimens for the tests listed below may also be sent to the 
State Laboratory:  

86171  Complement fixation tests, each antigen   

87116  Culture, tubercle, or other acid-fast bacilli (e.g., TB, AFB, mycobacteria); any 

source, isolation only  

87118  Culture, mycobacteria; definitive identification of each organism  

87250  

 

Virus identification; inoculation of embryonated eggs or small animal, includes 

observation and dissection  

Pap Smears  

Screening Pap smears shall be covered annually for females consistent with the 
guidelines published by the American Cancer Society. Medicaid guidelines do not allow 



  
Manual Title  

Physician/Practitioner-Manual  

Chapter  

IV  

Page 

 

 

19 
Chapter Subject  

Covered Services and Limitations  

Page Revision Date  

5/19/2022 

preventive care visits for anyone age 21 or over. The use of any preventive evaluation 
and management (E&M) CPT code for this age group will be denied as a non-covered 
service.  

Therefore, if you want to submit a claim for a visit and the reason for the visit was to 
receive a yearly pap smear you may use the following guidelines for billing Medicaid.  

 Use the E&M code that will reflect the level of care given during the visit plus 
the administration of the pap smear.  

 Documentation to support the level of care provided must appear in the 
patient’s medical records.  

 Use either a preventive ICD diagnosis code or a diagnosis code for any 
presenting problem found in the process of examination.  

 Additional guidelines may be found in the current CPT manual “Evaluation 
and Management (E/M) Services Guidelines.  

Screening Mammography  

Screening mammograms for the female member population shall be covered consistent 
with the guidelines published by the American Cancer Society.  

Claims for mammography services for women determined to be at high risk according to 
accepted medical practices that are performed at the screening frequency for high risk 
must be coded for unusual service (Code 22) and must include an attachment providing 
a brief explanation of the high-risk condition.  

Screening PSA  

Screening PSA (prostate specific antigen) and the related DRE (digital rectal 
examination) for males shall be covered, consistent with the guidelines published by the 
American Cancer Society.  

Gynecological and Obstetric Services  

Medicaid members are given the same freedom of choice for these services that is 
currently available to the general public under private insurance and health maintenance 
organizations (HMOs).  The Department of Medical Assistance Services implemented 
this change as a result of the recommendations made by a study commissioned by the 
Virginia General Assembly in House Joint Resolution 598.  
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Audiology Services  

Medicaid reimburses audiologists for medically necessary services provided for 
diagnostic purposes to adults as long as they are physician-referred.  

Physicians and audiologists must indicate the NPI of the referring primary care physician 
in Block 17A (I.D. Number of Referring Physician) on the CMS-1500 (08-05) (08-05) 
claim form.  

Intravenous Services  

Effective for dates of service on and after July 1, 1998, Medicaid implemented the service 
day rate methodology for the reimbursement of home I.V. therapy services.  

DMAS convened a Task Force to research the most efficient method of ordering and 
reimbursing for the equipment and supplies related to the delivery of intravenous (I.V.) 
therapy in the home.  This I.V. Therapy Task Force was comprised of durable medical 
equipment (DME) providers actively involved in delivering home I.V. therapy, 
pharmacists who provide I.V. therapy services, and Medicaid staff.  The Task Force 
developed the policy, which is effective for claims with dates of service on and after July 
1, 1998.  

See “Exhibits” at the end of the chapter for a sample of the DMAS-354, Therapy 
Implementation Form.  

Home Infusion Therapy is the intravenous administration of fluids, drugs, chemical 
agents, or nutritional substances to members in the home setting.  Medicaid will 
reimburse for the services, supplies, and drugs only when they are determined to be:  

 Medically necessary to treat a member’s medical condition;  

 In accordance with accepted medical practice; and  

 Not for the convenience of the member or the member’s caregiver.  

The member must:  

 Reside in either a private home or a domiciliary care facility, such as an adult care 
residence.  Members in hospitals, nursing facilities, rehabilitation centers, and 
other institutional settings are not eligible for this service;  

 Be under the care of a physician who prescribes the home infusion therapy and 
monitors the progress of the therapy;  

 Have body sites available for I.V. catheter or needle placement or have central 
venous access; and  
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 Be capable of self-administering or have a caregiver who can be adequately 
trained, is capable, and is willing to administer/monitor home infusion therapy 
safely and efficiently following the appropriate teaching and adequate 
monitoring.  In those cases where the member is incapable of administering or 
monitoring the prescribed therapy, and there is no adequate or trained caregiver, 
it may be appropriate for a home health agency to administer the therapy.  

Provider Eligibility  

Providers must have a valid NPI to participate in the home I.V. therapy program.  
Providers eligible to participate in this program are:  

 I.V. therapy providers;    

 Home health agencies;   

 Pharmacies; and    

 DME providers.  

 A provider must be enrolled as a Medicaid provider and 
must:  

 Meet any state licensing and certification requirements;  

 Render infusion therapy covered services;  

 Use Medicaid-established billing guidelines; and  

 Accept Medicaid reimbursement as payment in full.  

Therapy Coverage   

Medicaid has assigned a service day & reimbursement rate code for each of the 
following:  

 Hydration therapy;  

 Chemotherapy;  

 Pain management;  

 Drug therapy; and  

 Total parenteral nutrition (TPN).  

Service Day Rate Definition  

This payment methodology provides a fixed amount for each day of infusion therapy.  
The service day rate (per diem) reimburses for all services delivered in a single day.  This 
payment methodology will be mandatory for the reimbursement of all I.V. therapy 
services, unless the member is enrolled in one of the waivered services outlined under 
Special Considerations.  Service day rates are based on an average day of service, and 
there will be no additional reimbursement for special or extraordinary services. The 
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service day rate payment will be in two service categories:  durable medical equipment 
(DME) and pharmacy. Items in the DME service day rate include all supplies required to 
administer I.V. therapy, including but not limited to, the:  

 I.V. pump/pole rental/control devices;  

 Tubings, adapters, caps, needles, filters, cannulas, extension sets, and alcohol 
swabs; and 

 I.V. start kits and central venous catheter dressing kits.  

 

Items in the pharmacy service day rate include the:  

 Diluent for the therapeutic agent;  

 Mixing and compounding;   

 Flush kits and solutions (heparin and saline); and   

 Cassettes and bags/mini-bags.  

Drugs used in addition to I.V. therapy, such as intramuscular and subcutaneous injections 
(Compazine, insulin, etc.) and subcutaneous therapies for hydration and/or pain 
management, are not covered under the I.V. service day rate policy.  These medications 
and their associated DME supplies must be ordered and billed separately according to 
current Medicaid guidelines.  

 

DME Service Authorization  

The designated HCPCS codes for DME services do not require initial service 
authorization, but will have a limit of three months.  If the service is needed beyond the 
three-month-limit, it must be service authorized by DMAS’ Service Authorization 
contractor.  Special Considerations:  Providers of I.V. therapy services to those members 
enrolled in special or waivered Medicaid programs must abide by all the guidelines of 
the program in which the member is enrolled. For further information review Appendix 
D of this manual.  

Certificate of Medical Necessity (CMN) (DMAS-352)   

The CMN must be completed for I.V. therapy DME services.  The provider may fill out 
the CMN, but the physician, nurse practitioner and/or physician’s assistant must date and 
sign the CMN within 60 days of the begin date of service.  Medicaid will not reimburse 
the DME provider for any DME and supplies provided prior to the date of the physician’s, 
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nurse practitioner’s and/or physician’s assistant signature when the signature is not 
obtained within 60 days of the first date of service.   

Under the item/service and HCPCS code on the CMN, list the proper code and therapy 
service as well as the estimated length of time needed.  The I.V. Therapy Implementation 
Form (DMAS-354) must be completed, signed, and dated by the physician within 60 
days of the therapy start date.  Additionally, a copy of the doctor’s order for discontinuing 
the therapy must be attached to each CMN and I.V. Therapy Implementation form upon 
completion of the therapy.  The I.V. Therapy Implementation form must be initiated with 
the beginning of each drug and therapy service provided.  The I.V. Therapy 
Implementation Form may be completed by the provider, but must be signed and dated 
by the physician.  

Post-Payment Review  

The Medicaid Program must ensure that only medically necessary I.V. therapy is 
provided to Medicaid members.  For DME services, I.V. therapy providers must maintain 
records that contain the fully completed CMN, signed and dated by the physician; the 
I.V. Therapy Implementation Form (DMAS354), with the begin and end dates for each 
drug/therapy provided and signed and dated by the physician; and the order to 
discontinue the therapy (the official end date), signed and dated by the physician.  These 
forms shall be furnished to Medicaid staff upon request.  The absence of documentation 
to support I.V. therapy services may result in the retraction of moneys.  

Code to Use for Incompatible Drug Therapy  

In the event of incompatible drug administration, a separate HCPCS code has been 
developed to allow for the rental of a second infusion pump and the purchase of an extra 
administration tubing for each day of service.  When applicable, this code may be billed 
in addition to the other service day rate codes.  There must be documentation to support 
the use of this code on the I.V. Therapy Implementation Form (DMAS-354). Proper 
documentation includes the need for pump administration of the medications ordered, 
the frequency of administration to support that they are ordered simultaneously, and an 
indication of incompatibility.    

  

CLIENT MEDICAL MANAGEMENT PROGRAM  

As described in Chapter I of this manual, the State may designate certain members to be 
restricted to specific physicians and pharmacies.  When this occurs, it is noted on the 
Medicaid member's ID card.  A Medicaid-enrolled physician who is not the designated 
primary provider may provide and be paid for outpatient services to these members only:  
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 In a medical emergency situation in which a delay in the treatment may 
cause death or result in lasting injury or harm to the member.  

 A written referral from the primary health care provider using the 
Practitioner Referral Form (DMAS-70).  This also applies to covering 
physicians who have not been affiliated with the PCP.  

 For other services covered by Medicaid which are excluded from the 
Client Medical Management Program requirements.  

See “Exhibits” in Chapter I for details.  

EMERGENCY ROOM SERVICES UNDER CLIENT MEDICAL MANAGEMENT  

Reimbursement for emergency room services for Client Medical Management (CMM) 
members will be automatically paid if the Admitting (presenting signs/symptoms) 
diagnosis appears on Diagnoses to Be Paid at Emergency Rate by ICD CM Code (see 
“exhibits” at the end of this chapter for the list.)  

Client Medical Management (CMM) members must have a written primary care provider 
(PCP) referral in order for non-emergency services provided in the emergency room to 
be reimbursed at the all-inclusive rate for facilities of $ 30.  The PCP must use the 
Practitioner Referral Form, DMAS-70.  Payment will be denied without a referral unless 
there is a life-threatening emergency.  Non-emergency services provided without a PCP 
referral become non-covered services, and the member is responsible for the full cost of 
the emergency room visit.   

When billing for emergency room services, the attending physician bills evaluation and 
management codes with CPT codes and enters “Y” in Block 24C.  When the PCP has 
referred the member to the emergency room, place the PCP’s NPI in Block 17B on the 
CMS-1500 (08-05) and attach the Practitioner Referral Form, DMAS-70.  PCP referral 
IS required for reimbursement to CONSULTING physicians who treat a CMM client in 
the emergency room setting.  

The following requirements will be applied either individually or in combination to 
determine the payment for medical services provided in the outpatient hospital 
emergency room setting.  Flexibility with individual patient status and conditions is taken 
into consideration in the use of these guidelines. The member's age and the time of 
admission to the emergency room do not determine the emergency status.  The conditions 
relating to the emergency visit will determine the emergency status.  The requirement of 
non-scheduled medical treatment for the stabilization of an injury or condition will 
support an emergency.  
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The Department of Medical Assistance Services uses the prudent layperson standard as 
defined in the Balanced Budget Act of 1997 (BBA).  Accordingly, emergency services 
is defined as “a medical condition manifesting itself by acute symptoms of sufficient 
severity (including severe pain) such that a prudent lay person, who possesses an average 
knowledge of health and medicine, could reasonably expect the absence of immediate 
medical attention to result in placing the health of the individual (or, with respect to a 
pregnant woman, the health of the woman or her unborn child) in serious jeopardy, 
serious impairment to bodily functions, or serious dysfunction of any bodily organ or 
part.” The threat to life or health of the member necessitates the use of the most accessible 
hospital available that is equipped to furnish the services.  The requirement of non-
scheduled medical treatment for the stabilization of an injury or condition will support 
an emergency.  

The practice standards of Physician’s Assistants in Hospitals and the Emergency 
Departments of Hospitals are specifically addressed in the Code of Virginia § 54.1-2952, 
as amended. These practice standards are unique to these settings. DMAS policy 
conforms to the standards stipulated in State law regarding the provision of care in a 
Hospital setting by Physician’s Assistants.  Additionally, DMAS requires that the 
patient’s medical record must be documented sufficiently to clearly show that these 
unique practice standards have been met.   

Telephone or standing orders, or both, do not support emergency treatment.   

Emergency room claims that are reviewed by the staff at DMAS will be done in a manner 
that reflects the prudent lay person requirements.  Hospitals and physicians should insure 
that the documentation to support the medical necessity for the emergency visit is 
complete and legible.    

Emergency Situations:  

 Initial treatment following a recent injury.  “Recent” is defined as having occurred 
less than 48 hours prior to the visit.  

 An injury sustained over 48 hours prior to the visit and the symptoms have 
deteriorated to the point of requiring medical treatment for stabilization.  

o Note:  Minor injuries requiring only simple first aid that can be done in 
the home such as cleansing and bandaging an abrasion, are not 
considered emergencies.  A secondary diagnosis such as Diabetes 
Mellitus may support the emergent need if substantiated.  

 Initial treatment for medical/surgical emergencies, including indications of severe 
chest pain, dyspnea, gastrointestinal hemorrhage, spontaneous abortion, loss of 
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consciousness, status epilepticus, or other conditions considered “life-
threatening.”  

 Visit in which the member’s condition requires observation status or immediate 
hospital admission or transfer to another facility for further treatment or visit.  

 Motor Vehicle Accident (MVA) within 48 hours.  

 Physical abuse (suspected or confirmed) within 48 hours.  

 Epistasis requiring packing  

 Allergic reaction with airway compromise  

 Acute vital sign changes including, but not limited to, the following:  

Adult:  

 Temperature of 103° F or higher  

 Pulse rate below 40/minute  

 Pulse rate above 140/minute  

 Respiratory rate below 10/minute  

 Respiratory rate above 28/ minute  

 Systolic blood pressure below 90mm Hg  

 Systolic blood pressure above 200mm Hg  

 Diastolic blood pressure below 40mm Hg  

 Diastolic blood pressure above 120mm Hg  

 Pulse Oximetry reading < 91%  

• For adults:  Use of IV fluids for hydration purposes - rate should be 100ml/hr 
or greater  

Pediatric:  

 Temperature of 102° F or higher   

 Pulse rate above 180/minute for patients 1-18months of age  

 Pulse rate above 170/minute in patients 18 months to 12 years  

 Pulse rate below 80/minute in patients 1-18 months of age  

 Pulse rate below 60/minute in patients over 3 months of age  

 Respiratory rate above 50/minute in patients 1 to 10 months  

 Respiratory rate above 40/minute in patients 18 months to  12 
years  

 Systolic blood pressure below 65mm Hg in patients 6 months and 
under  
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 Systolic blood pressure below 80mm Hg in patients 6-12 months 
of age  

 Systolic blood pressure above 120 mm Hg in patients 1-18 months  

 Systolic blood pressure above 140 mm Hg in patients 18 months - 
12 years of age  

 Systolic blood pressure above 180 mm Hg in patients 12 years and 
older  

 Diastolic blood pressure above 80 mm Hg in all pediatric patients  

 Diastolic blood pressure below 40mm Hg in all pediatric patients  

 Pulse Oximetry reading < 93%  

• For Pediatrics: Use of IV fluids for hydration purposes - rate should be 

75ml/hour or greater  

Non-Emergency Conditions (unless the criteria described below have been met):  

Depression/Anxiety:  Documentation must clearly indicate that the member is an 
immediate danger to self or others.  

Otitis Media – not an emergency unless one or more of the following is noted:  

• The tympanic membrane is ruptured.  

• There is drainage from the ear(s).  

• A fever is documented while in the emergency room:   

Children:  Temperature of 102°F or above rectally  

Adult:  Temperature of 103°F or above orally  

• The member is age 2 or under and is crying inconsolably.  

• The physician’s examination documents the presence of acute otitis media, 
and there is no access to a physician’s office due to being after office hours or 
on a holiday or a weekend.   

Seizures – not an emergency unless:  

• The condition was previously undiagnosed, and the visit is immediately 
following or during a seizure.  

• A secondary disorder/diagnosis exists (i.e., hypoglycemia, infection)  
• The member is 12 years of age or younger.  
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• Accompanied to the ER by a law enforcement officer and the condition was 
unknown.  

• The member is in status epilepticus.  

• The member is in an epileptic state aggravated by alcohol or drug ingestion  

Non-Emergency Situations:  

• Non-compliance with previously ordered medications or treatments resulting 
in continued symptoms of the same condition.  

• Refusal to comply with currently ordered procedures or treatments, such as 
drawing blood for lab work.  

• The member had previously been in the same or different emergency room or 
in a physician’s office for the same condition without worsening signs or 
symptoms of the condition.  

• Scheduled visits to the emergency room for procedures, examinations, or 
medication administration.  Examples include, but are not limited to, cast 
changes, suture removal, dressing changes, follow-up examinations, and 
consultations for a second opinion.  

• Visits made to receive a “tetanus” injection in the absence of other emergency 
conditions.  

• Visits made to obtain medications in the absence of other emergency 
conditions.  

• The conditions or symptoms relating to the visit have been experienced longer 
than 48 hours or are of a chronic nature, and no emergency medical treatment 
was provided to stabilize the condition.  

• Medical Clearance/Screenings for Psychological or Temporary Detention 
Order admissions.  

EMERGENCY ROOM SERVICES EXCEPT FOR MEMBERS IN THE CLIENT 

MEDICAL MANAGEMENT PROGRAM)   

Reimbursement for emergency room services for Medicaid members (not enrolled under 
the Client Medical Management Program) will be automatically paid if the principal 
diagnosis appears on Diagnoses to Be Paid at Emergency Rate by  ICD CM Code (see 
“Exhibits” at the end of this chapter for this list). Claims for emergency services with the 
principal diagnosis on Diagnoses to Pend for Review By ICD CM Code will pend for 
review of the necessary documentation supporting the need for emergency services.  (See 
“Exhibits” at the end of this chapter for this list.)  Effective with emergency room claims 
the Admitting (presenting signs/symptoms) diagnosis will be utilized to determine the 
pay or pend status of the claim.  All claims that are reviewed by the staff at DMAS will 
be done in a manner that reflects the prudent lay person requirements.  
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All emergency physician room claims will be paid for emergency CPT codes 99281, 
99282, 99284, & 99285 under existing rates. DMAS will pend CPT code 99283 that is 
submitted with admitting diagnosis code or pend table to determine the emergency 
situation warranting care.  DMAS will pay an all-inclusive fee of $22.06 to the physician 
for those claims found not in compliance for emergency room services.  All-inclusive is 
defined as all emergency room and   ancillary   service   charges   claimed   in association 
with the emergency room visit, with the exception of laboratory services.  Laboratory 
services will continue to be reimbursed under the existing system of rates.  Claims 
identified as emergencies will also be reimbursed under existing rates.  The ordering and 
interpretation of appropriate diagnostic tests are considered part of the payment to the 
physician in the emergency department.  

A professional component for these services may not be billed separately by a physician 
in the emergency department, and no separate payment will be made to the physician in 
the emergency department for a professional component.  The professional component 
will be reimbursed only to those providers who interpret a test and sign and issue the 
final report.  

Follow-Up Care Post ER Visit  

Any follow-up outpatient or office consultations for CMM clients require a referral from 
the primary care physician.  Place the PCP’s NPI in Locator 17B on the CMS-1500 (08-
05).  Attach the written referral form and mark Locator 10D “attachment.”  

DURABLE MEDICAL EQUIPMENT  

Coverage of Apnea Monitors  

As a part of the Quality Care Assurance routine program evaluation of durable medical 
equipment (DME) and in response to concerns and questions that had been raised, the 
Department reconvened the Apnea Monitor Task Force to evaluate the appropriateness 
of the criteria for initial use, continuance of use, discontinuation, and other issues related 
to the coverage of apnea monitors.  The Task Force consisted of physicians representing 
all regions of the state, respiratory therapists, durable medical equipment providers, and 
DMAS staff, including medical consultants and other health professionals.  

In addition, an extensive literature search for standards of practice was initiated.  The 
following policy is a result of the work of this Task Force and became effective for claims 
with dates of service on and after January 1, 1996.  
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Diagnoses Which Automatically Meet Criteria and Identified-High Risk Conditions  

Apnea monitor usage for individuals with the following diagnoses or identified high-risk 
conditions will be approved for payment if the diagnosis/condition is supported with a 
completed Certificate of Medical Necessity (CMN) (DMAS-352) with appropriate 
supporting and verifiable documentation:  

• Apparent life-threatening episode(s), i.e., Gastro Esophageal Reflux, severe; apnea; 
seizures; cardiac arrhythmias;  

• Apnea of Prematurity;  

• Bronchopulmonary Dysplasia/Chronic Lung Disease of Infancy with oxygen 
dependency;  

• Respiratory Control Disorder such as:  Congenital Hypoventilation, Obstructive 
Sleep Apnea, Central Apnea, Obstructive Airway Disease;  

• Infant or child with Tracheostomy;  

• Infant of drug-dependent mother, symptomatic for apnea;  

• Sibling of SIDS (payment will be made for six months from birth or up to one month 
beyond age of sibling at time of death); and  

• Congenital Anomalies, at risk of airway obstruction.  

If the member does not meet the above criteria, the request will be reviewed in accordance 
with the following criteria.  

Criteria for Home Monitoring  

The instrument recommended for home use must monitor both cardiac and respiratory 
status.  Apnea mattresses or displacement pads are not appropriate. The member may use 
either the recording or nonrecording monitor.   

One or more of the following will be used for selection of patient home monitoring (initial 
and ongoing continued use), with appropriate supporting individual documentation:  

• Observed or recorded episode of prolonged apnea with no identifiable and/or 
treatable cause or an inadequate response to treatment;  

• Documented apnea associated with bradycardia, cyanosis, or pallor;  

• History of apnea described by parent or caretaker and documented in the medical 
records; or   

• Evidence of abnormal respiratory control.  
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Guidelines for Discontinuation of Monitor Reimbursement  

Initial approval for payment will be for a period up to four (4) months (120 days).  If 
continued use is indicated by medical necessity, supporting and verifiable medical 
documentation must be submitted to the Department of Medical Assistance Services 
Service Authorization contractor for review and service authorization. Reimbursement 
for apnea monitors will be discontinued when a clinical evaluation (including 
neurological, developmental and physical examinations) shows that the problems or the 
initial reasons behind the decision to monitor have been resolved or stabilized:  

• The patient has been free of events requiring stimulation or resuscitation for 2-4 
months; or  

• The patient has experienced significant stressors such as respiratory illness or 
immunizations without apnea; or  

• There is normalization of a previously abnormal respiratory pattern or no prolonged 
apnea episodes for 2-4 months.  

Pneumograms/Downloads, Polysomnagrams, and Multi-Channel Sleep Studies  

Definitions:  

Pneumogram is a 2-channel study of breathing and heart rate, including EKG 
signal and chest wall movement.  A download serves the same purpose as a 
pneumogram if the member is monitored on a recording apnea monitor.  

Multi-channel sleep study contains three or more signal sources that may include:  
cardiac EKG signal, respiratory air flow, body position, oximetry, esophageal pH, 
and quantitative end tidal CO2.  

Polysomnagram includes cardiac EKG signal, respiratory chest wall movement, 
respiratory abdominal wall movement, respiratory airflow, body position, 
oximetry, esophageal pH, and quantitative end tidal CO2, EEGx2, EOG x2, and 
EMG, attended by a technologist.  

It was determined that reimbursement for these studies should be made based on the 
number of channels in the study.  Criteria for determining the number of appropriate 
channels to be studied would be determined by the attending or ordering physician.   

The certificate of medical necessity documentation must specify the number of signals 
and what signals are to be done and whether or not interpretation is to be done.  
Documentation must include the download documentation and a wave form analysis.  A 
summary report must be maintained at the provider’s location.  
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If a recording monitor is being used and downloaded, a pneumogram is not needed to 
document the continuing need for the monitor.  This information will be obtained from 
the download summary report.  If a member with a recording monitor needs a 
pneumogram, the DME provider must submit a request for service authorization.  

Billing Procedures  

The DME provider is to use current CPT codes when billing for these studies.  HCPCS 
code E1399 will be used for a two-channel pneumogram or download without 
interpretation.  HCPCS code E1399 will be used for a two-channel pneumogram or 
download that includes interpretation. HCPCS code E1399 will be used for a multi-
channel sleep study or polysomnagram with or without interpretation.   
 
The technical component (scoring) must be included in these three codes.  

HCPCS 

CODES  

DESCRIPTION  BILLING 

UNIT  

AUTHORIZATION  LIMITS  COMMENTS  

 E1399  2-Channel Pneumogram/ 

Download without  

interpretation  

Each  No  1 per 

month  

See Below.  

 E1399  2-Channel  

Pneumogram/Download 

with interpretation  

Each  No  1 per 

month  

See Below.  

  

E1399  Multi-channel sleep study 
or polysomnagram with or 
without interpretation 

Channel 

or Signal  

Yes  I.C.  See Below.  

If a recording monitor is being used and downloaded, a pneumogram is not needed to document the 

continuing need for the monitor.  If a member with a recording monitor needs a pneumogram, the DME 

provider must submit a request for service authorization.  

Documentation Requirements for Reimbursement of Apnea Monitors and Diagnostic 

Studies  

For the initial 120 days, which do not require service authorization, there must be a 
Certificate of Medical Necessity (CMN) stating the member’s diagnosis that indicates 
the need for a monitor or a description of the member’s condition. The following 
documentation is required for the continued use of an apnea monitor over 120 days:  

1. A CMN and documentation outlining what the member has experienced related to 
apnea in the previous 120 days of monitoring, including:  
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a. The dates and number of occurrences of observed apnea;  

b. An interpretation of any related diagnostic tests;  

For example:  an upper GI series for GE reflux; pneumograms, or 

downloads for recording apnea monitors that are interpreted and 

indicated that the child had clinically significant apnea during the 

first 120 days and/or the condition is resolving;  

c. Download reports with clinical interpretation from recording monitors, 

(the physician is encouraged to order a pneumogram for those children on 

non-recording apnea monitors in order to get a clear picture of what the 

child is experiencing);  

d. Adequate and verifiable documentation on the CMN of the oxygen flow 

rate for those members who continue on oxygen, if applicable; and  

e. Adequate and verifiable documentation of the month of death of any 

sibling who expired due to Sudden Infant Death Syndrome if the child 

was placed on the monitor for this reason.  
2. A comprehensive history and record of physical examination, with appropriate work-

up including specific pulmonary studies as indicated (i.e., sleep airway studies and 
fluoroscopy, transcutaneous oxygen, pulse oximetry, recording monitor download 
analysis, and carbon dioxide monitor or pneumogram studies).  

The provider must submit a clinical description to DMAS staff of what happened during 
the first 120 days and why the monitor continues to be needed.  This description is 
comprised of a history and physical, interpreted downloads or pneumograms that show a 
test history, indication of special considerations (need for oxygen, need to receive 
immunization stressors, need to reach significant age for a sibling of SIDS), and a 
physician’s assessment of what happened during the first 120 days of monitoring to 
warrant continued use.  It is the responsibility of the member’s physician to interpret the 
data.  It is the responsibility of the DME provider to obtain the interpretation from the 
physician and submit it to Medicaid.  

Documentation for discontinuation of apnea monitor reimbursement will consist of a 
clinical evaluation (including neurological, developmental, and physical examinations) 
which shows that the problems or the initial reasons behind the decision to monitor have 
been resolved or stabilized.  

Documentation for pneumograms, polysomnagrams, and multi-channel sleep studies 
must specify the number of signals and what signals are to be done and whether or not 
interpretation is to be done.  Documentation must include the download documentation 
and a wave form analysis.  
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The DME provider must maintain all documentation (CMN, summary reports, delivery 
tickets, billing) on file at the location that is serving the member.  Documentation must 
be maintained on file for five years.  

Rental Versus Purchase of an Apnea Monitor Criteria  

Medicaid does not require service authorization for the initial 120 days.  If the physician 
determines that the member will need the apnea monitor longer than 120 days but less 
than eight months, the DME provider must obtain authorization for continued rental from 
DMAS Service Authorization contractor.  To obtain authorization, the DME provider 
must submit supporting documentation for the additional time requested.  If the physician 
determines that the member will need the apnea monitor eight months or longer, the DME 
provider must request purchase of the apnea monitor with supporting documentation at 
the initiation of service or time of determination of long-term usage.  At the time of 
purchase, the DME vendor is required to provide a new monitor with a full 
manufacturer’s warranty.  

Non-Compliant Behavior  

The provider shall document the non-compliant use of the apnea monitor in the member’s 
file.  Noncompliant use of the apnea monitor by the member or the member’s caregiver 
is a refusal to provide care necessary for the child’s health and creates a substantial risk 
of death for the child.  The provider shall report non-compliant behavior to the attending 
physician or health care professional.  There shall be compliance with Section 63.1-248.3 
of the Code of Virginia.    

The Department of Medical Assistance Services shall continue to reimburse for the 
monitor while reasonable efforts to insure compliant behavior are taken.  

Information about Service Agreements for Purchased Apnea Monitors  

HCPCS code E1399 has been developed to cover the service and maintenance of 
purchased apnea monitors.  HCPCS code E1399 requires service authorization.  The 
service maintenance agreement will allow for trouble-shooting and download visits (18 
visits per six months).  Downloading can be done during a trouble-shooting visit.  The 
vendor can utilize these 18 visits for any combination of trouble-shooting or download 
visits.  

Providers must agree to send the purchased monitor to the manufacturer for necessary 
servicing.  The cost for servicing, shipping, and handling will be covered in HCPCS code 
E1399 and service authorization is required.  A copy of the manufacturer’s invoice for 
servicing must be attached to the invoice.  These invoices will pend for manual review 
before reimbursement is made.  
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The service maintenance agreement does not include repairs.  All repairs must be 
requested under the established HCPCS code for repairs.  

Service Agreement for Purchased Apnea Monitors  

The service maintenance agreement requires service authorization by DMAS Service 
Authorization contractor in order for the provider to be reimbursed.  Once service 
maintenance is authorized, the provider may bill using the HCPCS codes in the DME 
listing.  The following services must be included as part of the service maintenance 
agreement:  

• The provider agrees to employ or contract with staff that will be available to make 
timely necessary home visits related to the use of the apnea monitor.  The DME 
vendor must assure that the staff being sent into the home is qualified to render the 
necessary services.  

• The provider agrees to perform routine maintenance of the apnea monitor in the 
home, replacing rib belts, lead wires, and electrodes (disposable or reusable) 
associated with this routine maintenance.  Supplies that must be provided under this 
agreement are listed in the table below.  If the member requires additional supplies 
that are medically justified, the provider should submit a service authorization request 
to DMAS Service Authorization contractor with attached medical justification that 
documents the need for these additional supplies.  

• The cost for trouble-shooting and download visits will be included in the service 
maintenance agreement fee (18 visits per six months).  Downloading can be done 
during a trouble-shooting visit.  These 18 visits can be utilized by the vendor for any 
combination of trouble-shooting or download visits.  

• The provider agrees to provide a back-up apnea monitor throughout the period of 
apnea monitor repairs or services.  

• The DME vendor may bill Medicaid for a rental apnea monitor for up to one month 
during routine repairs/services using the established HCPCS code.  The rental must 
only be for the actual time the monitor is out of the home being serviced by the 
manufacturer.  

• The cost of parts which would constitute a repair may be billed separately as a repair 
using the established HCPCS codes for repairs.  

• The provider agrees to send the apnea monitor for necessary servicing by the 
manufacturer.  The cost for servicing, shipping, and handling will be covered in a 
separate HCPCS code.  The provider must attach a copy of the CMN and 
manufacturer’s invoice to the claim in order for the claim to be paid.  Medicaid will 
pend claims for this HCPCS code for manual adjudication.  
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HCPCS  

CODE  

DESCRIPTION  BILLING  

UNIT  

AUTHORIZATION  LIMITS  COMMENTS  

E1399  Service  

Maintenance  

Agreement for 

a  

Patient-Owned  

Apnea  

Monitor  

Each  Yes  2/12 

Months  

  

SUPPLIES REQUIRED TO BE PROVIDED WITHIN THE SERVICE 

MAINTENANCE AGREEMENT 

12 ELECTRODES DISPOSABLE OR  

2 REUSABLE ELECTRODES  

2 LEAD WIRES  

2 RIB BELTS  

 

Enteral Nutritional Supplements  

Nutritional supplements may only be provided by enrolled durable medical equipment 
(DME) vendors and be reimbursed based on HCPCS codes that define categories of 
supplements.  A fixed fee amount is established for the categories.  

Coverage of enteral nutrition, which does not include a legend drug, is limited to when 
the supplement is the sole source form of nutrition, (except for individuals authorized 
through the Technology Assisted, or through EPSDT where the supplement must be the 
primary source of nutrition), is administered orally or through a nasogastric or 
gastrostomy tube, and is necessary to treat a medical condition.  Coverage of oral 
administration does not include the provision of routine infant formulae.  

Sole source means that the individual is unable to handle (swallow or absorb) any other 
form of oral nutrition.  Primary source means that nutritional supplements are 
medicallyindicated for the treatment of the member's condition if the member is unable 
to tolerate oral nutrients.  The patient may either be unable to take any oral nutrition or 



  
Manual Title  

Physician/Practitioner-Manual  

Chapter  

IV  

Page 

 

 

37 
Chapter Subject  

Covered Services and Limitations  

Page Revision Date  

5/19/2022 

the oral intake that can be tolerated is inadequate to maintain life.  The focus must be 
the maintenance of weight and strength commensurate with the patient's condition.  

EPSDT Coverage of Medical Formula and Nutritional Supplements  

The Early Periodic Screening Diagnosis and Treatment (EPSDT) program allows the 
Virginia  

Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) to provide medically necessary 
formula and medical foods to EPSDT eligible children under the age of 21 based on 
medical necessity. The current DMAS Durable Medical Equipment (DME) Provider 
Manual defines EPSDT formula approval criteria in Chapter 4 of that manual.   Routine 
infant formula is not covered.  DMAS will reimburse for medically necessary formula 
and medical foods when used under physician direction to augment dietary limitations or 
provide primary nutrition to individuals via enteral or oral feeding methods.    

Enrollees under the age of five (5) may receive medical formula and nutritional 
supplements through either DMAS enrolled DME providers or a local Women, Infants 
and Children (WIC) office.  Provision of medically necessary formula and medical foods 
for children under the age of 21 is not required of DMAS contracted MCO’s as this 
service is carved out from the DMAS Managed Care Contract and covered through 
DMAS fee-for-service, within DMAS coverage guidelines.    

Medical formula and nutritional supplements must be physician recommended to correct 
or ameliorate a health condition that requires specialized formula and medical foods to 
supplement diet due to metabolic limitations or provide primary nutrition to individuals 
via enteral or oral feeding methods.  The physician must document medical necessity by 
using the Certificate of Medical Necessity (DMAS 352) and the Nutritional Status 
Evaluation  when the family uses a DME provider to provide the medical formula.  When 
a local WIC office provides the formula for children under the age of five (5) then the 
WIC program forms are used to document medical necessity.  

Documentation Requirements for Enteral Nutritional Supplements  

The physician's order (the Certificate of Medical Necessity [CMN]) must specify either 
a brand name of the supplement being ordered or the category of enteral nutrition which 
must be provided.    

If a physician orders a specific brand of supplement, the DME provider must supply the 
brand prescribed.  The physician's order must include the daily caloric intake ordered 
and the route of administration for the supplement.  The physician's order (the CMN) is 
valid for a maximum of six months regardless of the member’s age.   
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A face-to-face nutritional assessment completed by trained clinicians (i.e., physician, 
registered nurse, registered dietitian) must be completed as required documentation of 
enteral nutrition for both the initial order and every six months.  The DME 
provider/ordering practitioner can use the CMN or a Letter of Medical Necessity that 
contains all of the required assessment elements and then provide this information to 
the DME provider who will be supplying enteral nutrition; however, providers may use 
any format, provided that all the elements are addressed.  Home health visits for the sole 
purpose of performing a nutritional assessment for members whose conditions are stable 
and chronic in nature will not be covered under the home health program.   

The nutritional assessment must include the following elements:  

1. Height (or length for pediatric members);  

2. Weight (if unobtainable, may provide mid-arm circumference and triceps 
skinfold test data).  For initial assessments, indicate the patient weight loss 
over time;  

3. Formula tolerance (e.g., the patient is experiencing diarrhea, vomiting, 
constipation).  This element is only required if the patient is already receiving 
a supplement;  

4. Tube or stoma site assessment, as applicable;  

5. Indication of whether the supplement is the primary or sole source of 
nutrition;   

6. Route of administration; and  

7. Section F must include the daily caloric order and the number of calories per 
package/can/etc.  

The DME provider must assure that there is a physician's order and nutritional 
assessment, completed in accordance with Medicaid policy, on file for any Medicaid 
member for whom enteral nutrition is provided.    

NOTE: The nutritional assessment/supporting documentation does not replace the 
requirement for a CMN.   

Blood Glucose Monitors   

DMAS will reimburse for blood glucose monitors and associated supplies for members 

eligible for the DME program or EPSDT when all of the following criteria are met:   
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 The member has a condition that requires adjustment of insulin dosage based on 

at least daily blood glucose findings, or the member has clinically demonstrated 

unstable glucose readings and must report frequent findings to a practitioner for 

adjustment of hypoglycemic medications; and   

 There must be written verification that the member and/or caregiver have 

participated in diabetic training (diet, medication, monitoring, etc.) and that the 

member and/or caregiver have demonstrated the ability to appropriately use the 

prescribed blood glucose monitor.   

 (This requirement is applicable for initial blood glucose monitors and is not required for 

future monitors unless the practitioner feels additional education is necessary).   

For Pregnant Women   

DMAS will reimburse for blood glucose monitors and test strips for pregnant women 

suffering from diabetes for which the practitioner determines nutritional counseling alone 

will not be sufficient to assure a positive pregnancy outcome (effective for dates of 

service on and after July 1, 1993).   

The Certificate of Medical Necessity (CMN) (DMAS-352) is required. As of July 1, 2010, 

the maternity risk screen is no longer required; however, 12VAC 30-50-510 requires that 

pregnant women who receive a blood glucose meter covered by DMAS must also be referred 

for nutritional counseling.   

COUNSELING, HIV TESTING, AND TREATMENT FOR PREGNANT WOMEN  

The Code of Virginia §54.1-2403.01 requires providers to counsel pregnant women on 
the importance of HIV testing during pregnancy and treatment if the testing results are 
positive.  

As a routine component of prenatal care, every licensed practitioner who renders prenatal 
care, regardless of the site of such practice, must advise each patient of the value of 
testing for Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV) infection and request that she consent 
to such testing.    

Practitioners must also counsel all pregnant women with HIV-positive test results about 
the dangers to the fetus and the advisability of receiving treatment in accordance with the 
current Centers for Disease Control recommendations for HIV-positive pregnant women.  
All pregnant women shall have the right to refuse consent to testing for HIV infection 
and any recommended treatment.  Documentation of such refusal must be maintained in 
the patient’s medical record.  
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The HIV/AIDS epidemic is increasing in women of childbearing age and spreading 
beyond previously defined risk groups and geographic areas.  This increase has been 
paralleled by a similar increase in children.  The Health Care Financing Administration 
estimates that a minimum of 90% of children infected with HIV are Medicaid 
beneficiaries.  

Clinical trials were conducted under the National Institutes of Health on the use of AZT 
(zidovudine) to prevent perinatal transmission of AIDS.  The clinical trials [AIDS 
Clinical Trial Group 076 (ACTG 076)] demonstrated that participants who received AZT 
therapy had a 66% reduction in transmission of HIV from the mother to her newborn.  
The results of this clinical trial were significant because perinatal transmission accounts 
for most cases of HIV infection among children.  

As the primary caretakers of this population, both the American Academy of Pediatrics 
(AAP) and the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG) strongly 
believe that the answer lies in an aggressive HIV education and counseling initiative.  
They have issued a joint statement stating “clear medical benefits of knowing the HIV 
status of pregnant women and newborns have been documented.  Treatments are 
currently available to significantly reduce the HIV transmission from mother to infant 
(zidovudine/AZT).  This finding represents the most important medical breakthrough in 
this area in recent years.  In addition, the lives of the infants, not protected by the AZT 
treatments in utero, may be prolonged by initiating medical care within the first months 
of life.  For newborns whose mother’s HIV status was not determined during pregnancy, 
the infant’s health care provider should educate the parent(s) concerning HIV testing and 
recommend HIV testing for the newborn.”  

The combined strategy of HIV counseling for all pregnant women and voluntary HIV 
testing is already proving effective in several communities.  Voluntary testing means that 
after a woman receives appropriate counseling from her health care provider, she is able 
to make an informed decision about having a test for HIV.  Studies show that when her 
health care provider talks with a pregnant woman about the test and what it means for 
her and her baby, most women choose to be tested and then to be treated as their doctor 
recommends.  For example, in one inner-city hospital, 96% of women chose to be tested 
after receiving HIV counseling.  

Printed copies of the “U.S. Public Health Service Recommendations for HIV Counseling 
and Voluntary Testing for Pregnant Women” and “Recommendations of the U.S. Public 
Health Service Task Force on the Use of Zidovudine to Reduce Perinatal Transmission 
of Human Immunodeficiency  

Virus” (MMWR 1994; 44[RR-11]) which have more information about AZT treatment 
during pregnancy are available from the CDC National AIDS Clearinghouse (CDC 
NAC).  Printed copies may be ordered by calling the CDC National AIDS Hotline (1-
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800-342-AIDS).  The Hotline can also provide information about any AIDS-related 
issue.    

The guidelines are also available electronically through CDC NAC on-line bulletin board 
as well as through other HIV/AIDS bulletin boards, including the Internet.  

For specific information regarding the 076 Clinical Trial or any other HIV/AIDS clinical 
trial, call the AIDS Clinical Trial Information Service (ACTIS) at 1-800-TRIALS A.  For 
information regarding treatment and care of HIV infection and AIDS, including the use 
of AZT in pregnant women, call the HIV/AIDS Treatment Service (ACTIS) at 1-800-
448-0440.  

BILLING PROCEDURES FOR NEWBORN SCREENING TEST KITS  

Enrolled Medicaid providers would use CPT code 99070 for the newborn PKU test kit 
only, for testing done outside of the initial newborn hospitalization or for one done in an 
outpatient setting for necessary follow up.  The enrolled Medicaid provider will use the 
CMS-1500 (08-05) claim form and would need to have an attachment that contains the 
member name and ID number, date of service and the actual charge for the PKU Kit from 
the state lab.  The test kit and actual laboratory test would be part of the initial newborn 
hospital facility charges and reimbursed to the facility under the established facility 
reimbursement, if done with the hospitalization of the birth, the actual laboratory blood 
test would be billed by the performing laboratory using CPT code 84030- Phenylalanine.  

BABYCARE SERVICES  

The BabyCare program includes the following components:  

• Behavioral health screenings by a physician, physician assistant or nurse 
practitioner as defined in the BabyCare Provider Manual, Chapter II;   

• Case management for high risk pregnant women and infants up to two years of 
age, by registered nurse or social worker as defined in Chapter II of the BabyCare 
Provider Manual; and  

• Expanded prenatal services for pregnant women including member education 
classes (including tobacco dependence education), nutrition services, homemaker 
services and substance abuse treatment services (SATS) by a DMAS approved 
provider as detailed in Chapter II of the BabyCare Provider Manual.  

BabyCare services described in this chapter are covered under the Virginia Medical 
Assistance Program.  Forms referenced in this chapter may be found under the Maternal 
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and Child Health / BabyCare section on the DMAS website at 
http://dmasva.dmas.virginia.gov.  

The physician is an essential link in identifying high-risk members and referring for 
services.  Behavioral health screenings and case management services are available for 
pregnant women and infants who are enrolled in Fee-for-Service (FFS) or Primary Care 
Case Management (PCCM) for Medicaid, Family Access to Medical Insurance Security 
(FAMIS), FAMIS Plus or FAMIS MOMS programs.  Expanded prenatal services are 
available to pregnant members in FFS or PCCM Medicaid, FAMIS, FAMIS Plus or 
FAMIS MOMS programs.  The covered services available to enrollees in a MCO are 
described below.  Pregnant women are eligible for BabyCare services during pregnancy 
and up to the end of the month following their 60th day post-partum.  Infants are eligible 
for BabyCare services up to their second birthday.  

BEHAVIORAL HEALTH SCREENINGS   

The physician is the critical link between the high-risk pregnant woman or infant and the 
services available through the BabyCare program.  The physician is responsible for 
identifying potential or existing problems through the systematic review of the pregnant 
woman or infant's medical/obstetrical/developmental conditions, as well as lifestyle and 
environmental factors, and making referrals for care directed at preventing or 
ameliorating those problems.    

DMAS reimburses for administration and interpretation of the Behavioral Health Risks 
Screening Tool for Women of Child Bearing Age.  The purpose for the screening is to 
identify and assist pregnant women as well as new mothers who may be at risk for mental 
health, substance use or intimate partner violence as well as infants who may be at risk 
for developmental issues secondary to their family situation and mother’s risks.  Early 
identification and referral for intervention of these risks are paramount in helping 
improve the outcomes of pregnancy as well as health/well-being of the infant.  BabyCare 
reimburses for administration of this instrument for pregnant/postpartum women who are 
enrolled in a fee-for-service or primary care case management program using Current 
Procedural Terminology (CPT) code 99420.    

BabyCare will reimburse pediatricians for administering the Behavioral Health Risks 
Screening Tool for Women of Childbearing Age to mothers of infants up to age two, 
under the infant’s medical benefit for FFS or PCCM Medicaid, FAMIS or FAMIS Plus.  
The purpose is to identify mothers of infants who may be experiencing depression, 
substance abuse or intimate personal violence and thus increasing the risk that the child 
will have developmental issues as a result.  BabyCare reimburses for administration of 
this instrument for postpartum women and when billed under the infants up to two years 
of age who are enrolled in a fee-for-service or primary care case management program 
using CPT code 99420.   

http://dmasva.dmas.virginia.gov/default.aspx
http://dmasva.dmas.virginia.gov/default.aspx
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Managed Care Organization High Risk Maternity and Infant Programs  

MCOs participating with the Virginia Medical Assistance Program have their own high 
risk maternity and infant programs including case management and expanded prenatal 
services (services comparable to those identified in 12VAC30-50-410 and 12VAC30-
50-510).  Each MCO has established authorization and approval requirements for these 
programs.  In addition, in order to provide and be reimbursed for services to a managed 
care member, providers must have a contract with the MCO.  Providers should contact 
the appropriate MCO about the requirements of their maternity and infant program.  A 
list of the MCO High Risk Maternity and Infant Programs can be located on the DMAS 
website under Managed Care / Contact Information / High Risk Maternity and Infant 
Programs: (http://dmasva.dmas.virginia.gov/Content_atchs/mc/mc-guide_p2.pdf).   

The major goals of BabyCare services are to:  

1. Reduce infant mortality and morbidity by improving pregnancy outcomes;  

2. Ensure access to comprehensive preventive and therapeutic services by 
pregnant women and their infants; and  

3. Assist pregnant women and infants under age two in meeting other priority 
needs that affect their well-being and that of their families.  

For more information about BabyCare and the referral process, please refer to the 
BabyCare Provider Manual available online at:  
http://websrvr.dmas.virginia.gov/ProviderManuals/Default.aspx.  

Substance Abuse Therapy Services for Pregnant and Postpartum Women  

DMAS provides coverage for the following substance abuse treatment services for 
pregnant and postpartum women. More information about the substance abuse treatment 
services may be found in the DMAS Community Mental Health Rehabilitation Provider 
Manual available online at: 
http://websrvr.dmas.virginia.gov/ProviderManuals/Default.aspx.  

Substance abuse treatment services (SATS) for pregnant and postpartum women are 
described in the DMAS Community Mental Health Rehabilitative Services Manual and 
are not included in MCO contracts. Members who are pregnant may access substance 
abuse treatment through any approved DMAS-enrolled SATS provider. Also, the MCO 
may refer a member to these services. It is the responsibility of the provider of these 
services to coordinate service delivery and the member’s needs with the MCO.   

http://dmasva.dmas.virginia.gov/Content_atchs/mc/mc-guide_p2.pdf
http://dmasva.dmas.virginia.gov/Content_atchs/mc/mc-guide_p2.pdf
http://dmasva.dmas.virginia.gov/Content_atchs/mc/mc-guide_p2.pdf
http://dmasva.dmas.virginia.gov/Content_atchs/mc/mc-guide_p2.pdf
http://dmasva.dmas.virginia.gov/Content_atchs/mc/mc-guide_p2.pdf
http://websrvr.dmas.virginia.gov/ProviderManuals/Default.aspx
http://websrvr.dmas.virginia.gov/ProviderManuals/Default.aspx
http://websrvr.dmas.virginia.gov/ProviderManuals/Default.aspx
http://websrvr.dmas.virginia.gov/ProviderManuals/Default.aspx
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MEDICAL EQUIPMENT AND SUPPLIES  

Expendable medical supplies normally used in the physician's office, such as gauze, 
dressings, syringes, and culture plates, are included in the Medicaid Program's 
reimbursement for the office visit or test performed.  Only the actual cost of special 
expendable medical supplies, such as an ace bandage or a surgical tray, can be billed to 
Medicaid. DME and supplies are a covered service available to the entire Medicaid 
population.  In addition, Medicaid may cover DME services when any of the following 
are met:  

 The member is under age 21 and the item or supply could be covered under the 
Virginia State Plan for Medical Assistance (the State Plan) through the Early and 
Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment Program (EPSDT); or  

 The member is enrolled in the CCC Plus Waiver Program.  
 

All medically necessary medical equipment and supplies under the State Plan may be 
covered only if they are necessary to carry out a treatment prescribed by a physician.  
Unusual amounts, types, and duration of usage must be authorized by Medicaid in 
accordance with published policies and procedures.  When determined to be cost-
effective by Medicaid, payment may be made for rental of the equipment in lieu of 
purchase.  (Virginia State Plan for Medical Assistance, Supplement 1 to Attachment 3.1-
A&B, 7-D, 1.a.) Durable medical equipment (DME) and supplies that are on a Certificate 
of Medical Necessity (DMAS-352) and are physician ordered for the home environment 
are reimbursable for the general Medicaid populations.  The non-covered DME and 
supplies are outlined in the State Plan for Medical Assistance and the Durable Medical 
Equipment and Supplies Manual. DME and supplies for home use do not require that the 
member meet the home health criteria by being classified as homebound; therefore, DME 
and supplies may be obtained through an enrolled DME provider who must request 
service authorization when required.  

Procedure Codes for Medical Supplies and Equipment Used in the Practitioner's Office  

In the course of treatment in a practitioner's office, it may be necessary to use supplies 
and/or equipment beyond those routinely included in the office visit.  The applicable 
CPT/HCPCS code may be used when billing for a specific supply item. The following 
procedure code may be used:   

 Item  Procedure Code * Unlisted Supplies  99070  

* Note: When using procedure code 99070, Unlisted Supplies, an 
explanation provided as an attachment to the CMS-1500 (08-
05) claim form must describe the item and its actual invoice 
cost.  The manufacturer’s invoice should also be attached.  
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MATERNITY AND NEWBORN INPATIENT CARE  

Refer to the Appendix D of the Physician/Practitioner Provider Manual.   

NURSING FACILITY VISITS  

Nursing facility visits are covered as medical conditions require.  However, subsequent 
nursing facility services are limited to one per month unless the medical necessity for 
more frequent visits is explained as an attachment to the  CMS-1500 (08-05) claim form 
and is indicated through the use of the procedure modifier "22" ("Unusual Services") in 
Locator 24D.  

PHYSICAL THERAPY  

Medically necessary physical therapy treatments are covered.  The physician may only 
charge for physical therapy provided in his or her office by the physician or by a licensed 
physical therapist under his or her supervision.  When only physical therapy is provided, 
an office visit charge may not be submitted to the Program.  

PROSTHETIC DEVICES  

Refer to the Prosthetic Device provider manual.  

All hospital admissions at the acute care level, associated with or determined to have 
developed as a result of substance abuse are covered services.  Examples of these are 
acute gastritis, hematemesis, seizures, and coma as a result of the abuse of alcohol.  

Also covered is the treatment of chronic problems attributable to substance abuse.  
Examples of these are peptic ulcer, pancreatitis, cirrhosis, polyneuropathy, 
cardiomyopathy, and delirium tremens caused by abuse of alcohol.  

Please refer to the Community Mental Health Rehabilitative Services Manual and the 
Psychiatric Services Manual for covered substance abuse services.  Medicaid provides 
coverage for substance abuse services for pregnant and postpartum women.  Refer to the 
Community Mental Health  Rehabilitative  Services  Provider  Manual 
available online  at:   
http://websrvr.dmas.virginia.gov/ProviderManuals/Default.aspx for information 
regarding these services. For persons under the age of 21 EPSDT may provide medically 
necessary treatment to correct or ameliorate health or mental health conditions as 
diagnosed during an EPSDT screening.  

http://websrvr.dmas.virginia.gov/ProviderManuals/Default.aspx
http://websrvr.dmas.virginia.gov/ProviderManuals/Default.aspx
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SURGERY  

Covered surgical procedures which are medically necessary are compensable.  

Abortion (Elective)  

As of July 1, 2010, induced (elective) abortions will be paid for by the Department of 
Medical Assistance Services only upon the physician's certification that in his or her 
professional medical judgment the life of the mother would be substantially endangered 
if the fetus were carried to term.    

Note:  The policy statement does not pertain to the treatment of incomplete, missed, or            
septic abortions.  Reimbursement for these types of abortions are covered as before.   

If, in the physician's professional judgment, the woman's life would be endangered by 
carrying the fetus to term, an abortion certification form, MAP-3006  (See “Exhibits” at 
the end of the chapter for a sample of the form), must accompany each claim for an 
induced (elective) abortion.  Note that, if a woman's life would be endangered by carrying 
the fetus to term, the attending physician must so certify.    

The originating physician is required to supply a copy of the proper certification to other 
billing providers.  Any claim submitted using the following procedure codes without the 
appropriate physician certification or required documentation will be pended.  If the 
appropriate information is not attached, the claim will be denied.  

• Abortions Performed During a Period of Retroactive Eligibility - 
Reimbursement is available for those abortions performed during periods of 
retroactive eligibility if the physician certifies in writing on the MAP-3006 
form that, in his or her professional judgment, the life of the mother would 
have been endangered if the fetus had been carried to term.  The certification 
must also contain the name and address of the patient.  

• Abortion Procedure Codes - CPT/HCPCS procedure codes, 01966, 59840, 
59841, 59850, 59851, 59852, 59855, 59856, 59857, or 59866 must be used 
as appropriate in submitting all physician and hospital claims for induced 
(elective) abortions.  

Regardless of the service authorization for the hospitalization, if the invoice reflects an 
abortion procedure, the claim will pend for Medicaid manual review.  If the forms are 
not properly completed, or not attached to the bill, the claim will be denied or reduced 
according to Medicaid policy.  
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Assistant Surgeon  

Assistant surgeon fees are covered when services of an assistant surgeon are considered 
medically necessary due to the complexity of the procedure.  The assistant surgeon must 
be an enrolled provider and is to bill the procedure using the appropriate procedure code 
and procedure modifier “80”, “81”, or “82” in Locator 24D of the   CMS-1500 (08-05)  
claim form.  Note: Assistant at Surgery is not covered by Virginia Medicaid.  

Breast Reconstruction/Prosthesis following Mastectomy and Breast Reduction  

Refer to Appendix D (Service Authorization Information) of the Physician Provider 
Manual.  

Biopsy  

Biopsy procedures performed concurrently with major surgical procedures are included 
in the payment for the major procedure.  

Cosmetic Surgery  

Refer to Appendix D (Service Authorization Information) of the Physician/Practitioner  

Provider Manual.  

 

Elective Surgery  

Refer to Appendix D (Service Authorization Information) of the Physician/Practitioner  

Provider Manual.  

 

Transplant Surgery  

Refer to Appendix D (Service Authorization Information) of the Physician/Practitioner 
Provider Manual.  

Gender Dysphoria Surgery 

Refer to the Gender Dysphoria Supplement of the Physician/Practitioner Provider Manual. 
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Endoscopy  

Payment for diagnostic endoscopy procedures performed concurrently with a related 
major surgical procedure is included in the payment for the major procedure.  

Experimental Surgery  

Surgery considered experimental in nature is not covered.  

Hysterectomies  

According to federal regulations, hysterectomy is not a sterilization procedure.  Medicaid 
does not cover hysterectomies performed solely for the purpose of rendering an 
individual incapable of reproducing.  Payment may be made for hysterectomies as 
follows:  

• Medically Necessary - A medically necessary hysterectomy may be covered only 
when the person securing the authorization to perform the hysterectomy has informed 
the individual or her representative, if applicable, orally and in writing before the 
surgery is performed that the hysterectomy will render the individual permanently 
incapable of reproducing, and the individual or her representative has signed a written 
Acknowledgment of Receipt of Hysterectomy Information Form, DMAS-3005.  (See 
“Exhibits” at the end if the chapter for a sample of the form).    

• The Physician Statement must be completed and signed by the physician, and in this 
situation, Block A must be marked. When a hysterectomy is performed as a 
consequence of abdominal exploratory surgery or biopsy, the Acknowledgment of 
Receipt of Hysterectomy Information Form (DMAS-3005) is also required.  
Therefore, it is advisable to inform the patient or her representative prior to the 
exploratory surgery or biopsy.  Again, Block A of the Physician Statement must be 
completed.  

• Emergency - When a hysterectomy is performed on an emergency basis because of 
life-threatening circumstances, Block B of the Physician Statement must be marked 
and a description of the nature of the emergency must be included.  The completed 
Physician Statement must be attached to each claim form related to the hysterectomy 
(e.g., surgeon, hospital, anesthesiologist).  The patient does not have to sign this form.  
An example of this situation would be when the patient is admitted to the hospital 
through the emergency room for immediate medical care and the patient is unable to 
understand and respond to information pertaining to the acknowledgment of receipt 
of hysterectomy information due to the emergency nature of the admission.  

• Sterility - If the patient is sterile prior to the hysterectomy, Block C of the Physician 
Statement must be marked and a statement regarding the cause of the sterility must 
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be included.  The completed Physician Statement must be attached to each invoice 
related to the hysterectomy (e.g., surgeon, hospital, anesthesiologist).  The patient 
does not have to sign the form.  (For example, this form would be used when the 
sterility was post-menopausal or the result of a previous surgical procedure.)  

• Gender Dysphoria - Hysterectomy in conjunction with treatment for Gender 

Dysphoria is covered as outlined in the Gender Dysphoria Supplement. 

• A copy of the form DMAS-3005 must be attached to each provider's invoice for a 

hysterectomy procedure if Medicaid is to consider the claim for payment.  Failure to 

provide the appropriate acknowledgment or certification will result in the denial of 

the claim.     

Regardless of the service authorization for the hospitalization, if the invoice reflects 
a hysterectomy, the claims will pend for Medicaid manual review.  If the forms are 
not properly completed, or not attached to the bill, the claim will be denied or reduced 
according to Medicaid policy.  The originating physician is required to supply other 
billing providers with a copy of the  
DMAS-3005.  

• CPT/HCPCS Hysterectomy Procedure Codes  

00846  Anesthesia for intra peritoneal procedures in lower abdomen including 

laparoscopy; radical hysterectomy   

00944  Vaginal hysterectomy  

01962  Anesthesia for urgent hysterectomy following delivery   

01963  Anesthesia for cesarean hysterectomy without any labor 

analgesia/anesthesia care  

01969  Anesthesia for cesarean hysterectomy following neuraxial labor 

analgesia/anesthesia   

51597  Pelvic exenteration, complete, for vesical, prostatic, or urethral 

malignancy, with removal of bladder and ureteral transplantations, with or 

without hysterectomy and/or abdominoperineal resection of rectum and 

colon and colostomy, or any combination thereof;  

51925  Closure of vesicouterine fistula with hysterectomy;  

58150  Total abdominal hysterectomy (corpus and cervix), with or without 

removal of tube(s), with or without removal of ovary(s);  

58152  with colpo-urethrocystopexy (Marshall-Marchetti-Krantz, Burch);  

58180  Supracervical abdominal hysterectomy (subtotal hysterectomy), with or 

without removal of tube(s), with or without removal of ovary(s);  
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58200  Total abdominal hysterectomy, including partial vaginectomy, with para-

aortic and pelvic lymph node sampling, with or without removal of tube(s), 

with or without removal of ovary(s);  

58210  Radical abdominal hysterectomy, with bilateral total pelvic 

lymphadenectomy and para-aortic lymph node sampling (biopsy), with or 

without removal of tube(s), with or without removal of ovary(s);  

58240  Pelvic exenteration for gynecologic malignancy, with total abdominal 

hysterectomy or cervicectomy, with or without removal of tube(s), with or 

without removal of ovary(s), with removal of bladder and ureteral 

transplantations, and/or abdominoperineal resection of rectum and colon 

and colostomy, or any combination thereof;  

58260  Vaginal hysterectomy; for uterus 250g or less;   

58262  with removal of tube(s), and/or ovary(s);  

58263  with removal of tube(s), and/or ovary(s), with repair of enterocele;  

58267  with colpo-urethrocystopexy (Marshall-Marchetti-Krantz type, Pereyra 

type, with or without endoscopic control);  

58270  with repair of enterocele;  

58275  Vaginal hysterectomy, with total or partial colpectomy; Vaginectomy;   

58280  with repair of enterocele;  

58285  Vaginal hysterectomy, radical; (Schauta type operation);  

58290  Vaginal hysterectomy, for uterus greater than 250 grams;  

58291  with removal of tube(s) and/or ovary(s)  

    

58292  with removal of tube(s) and/or ovary(s), with repair of enterocele   

58293  with colpo-urethrocystopexy (Marshall-Marchetti-Krantz type, Pereyra 

type) with or without endoscopic control  

 58294  with repair of enterocele  

58541 Laparoscopy, surgical; supracervical hysterectomy, for uterus 250g or 
less  

58542 with removal of tube(s) and/or ovary(ies)  

58543 Laparoscopy, surgical; supracervical hysterectomy, for uterus greater 
than 250g   

58544 with removal of tube(s) and/or ovary(ies)  

 58548    

 58550  Laparoscopy surgical, with vaginal hysterectomy, for uterus 250 grams or 
less;  

58552 with removal of tube(s) and/or ovary(s), for uterus   

58553 Laparoscopy, surgical, with vaginal hysterectomy, for uterus greater 
than 250 grams;  
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58554 with removal of tube(s) and/or ovary(s), for uterus greater than 250 
grams 58570  Laparoscopy, surgical, with total hysterectomy, for 
uterus 250 g or less;  

    

58571 with removal of tube(s) and/or ovary(s)  

58572 Laparoscopy, surgical, with total hysterectomy, for uterus greater than 
250 g;  

58573 with removal of tube(s) and/or ovary(s)  

  

58575  Laparoscopy, surgical, total hysterectomy for resection of malignancy 
(tumor debulking), with omentectomy including salpingo-
oophorectomy, unilateral or bilateral, when performed  

58951  Resection of ovarian malignancy with bilateral salpingo-oophorectomy 
and omentectomy; with total abdominal hysterectomy, pelvic and 
limited para-aortic lymphadenectomy;  

58953 Bilateral salpingo-oophorectomy with omentectomy, total abdominal 
hysterectomy and radical dissection for debulking;  

  

58954 with pelvic lymphadenectomy and limited para-aortic 
lymphadenectomy  

58956  Bilateral salpingo-oophorectomy with total omentectomy, total 
abdominal hysterectomy for malignancy  

59135 Surgical treatment of ectopic pregnancy; interstitial, uterine pregnancy 
requiring total hysterectomy;  

 59525  Subtotal or total hysterectomy after cesarean delivery;  

  

• Hysterectomies Performed During a Period of Retroactive Eligibility - 
Reimbursement is available for hysterectomies performed during periods of 
retroactive eligibility if the physician will certify on the DMAS-3005 that one of the 
following conditions was met:    

1) He or she informed the member before the operation that the procedure 
would make her sterile.  In this case, the patient and the physician must 
sign the DMAS-3005; or  

2) The member met one of the exceptions provided in the Physician 
Statement Section of the DMAS-3005.  In this case, no member 
signature is required.  
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Multiple Procedures  

Multiple surgical procedures may require manual review during the payment process.  
The major procedure is given maximum payment of 100% DMAS fee file and all other 
related procedures reimbursed at 50 percent of the DMAS fee file.  Surgical procedures 
incidental to the primary procedure are not covered.  For example:  an appendectomy 
incidental to gall bladder surgery is not covered.  

Preoperative and Postoperative Care  

Routine, uncomplicated preoperative and postoperative medical care that is related to the 
primary surgery considered included as part of the surgical reimbursement allowance and 
therefore may not be billed separately.  

Mandatory Outpatient Surgical and Diagnostic Procedures  

The Department of Medical Assistance Services will not reimburse the hospital and/or 
practitioner for the outpatient surgical or diagnostic procedures listed in Appendix B 
when performed on an inpatient basis unless the procedure meets one of the exceptions 
to this policy.  This policy applies to all Medicaid-eligible patients regardless of any other 
medical coverage, except for those members in the retroactive eligibility period.  The 
exceptions as defined below must be well-documented and support the medical necessity 
for these procedures when performed on an inpatient basis.  

• An existing medical condition which requires prolonged post-operative 
observation by skilled medical personnel (e.g., heart disease or severe 
diabetes).  

• The member had been admitted to a hospital for another procedure or 
condition and the surgeon decides that one of the listed procedures is also 
necessary or is done in conjunction with the procedure requiring 
hospitalization.  

• Another procedure, which requires the inpatient setting, may follow the 
initial procedure (e.g., gynecological laparoscopy followed by 
oophorectomy).  Adequate outpatient facilities are not available within a 
reasonable distance (i.e., 50 miles), requiring the procedure to be rendered on 
an inpatient basis; in this case, a one-day inpatient hospital stay would be 
allowed unless a longer stay is medically necessary.  

All physician claims will pend for review when the site of the service is inpatient and a 
listed outpatient surgical or diagnostic procedure code is used.  Complete case 
documentation must support the medical necessity for these procedures when performed 
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on an inpatient basis.  Payment will only be approved when appropriate justification for 
the inpatient necessity is provided on (or accompanies) the invoice.  

STERILIZATION  

Human Reproductive Sterilization  

Human reproductive sterilization is defined by the Department of Medical Assistance 
Services as any medical treatment, procedure, or operation for the purpose of rendering 
an individual permanently incapable of reproducing.    

Sterilizations that are performed because pregnancy would be life-threatening to the 
mother ("therapeutic" sterilizations) are included in this definition.  The term sterilization 
means only human reproductive sterilization, as defined above.  

Note: Treatment which is not for the purpose of, but a result in, sterility (formerly referred 
to as secondary sterilization) does not require completion of the Sterilization 
Consent Form.  This applies for the purposes of payment only.  Informed consent 
and billing requirements associated with the performance of a hysterectomy are 
referred to earlier in this section.  

Conditions of Coverage  

The conditions under which sterilization procedures for both inpatient and outpatient 
services are payable by the Program conform to federal regulations.  

The Virginia Medicaid Program does not cover sterilization procedures for mentally 
incompetent or institutionalized individuals or an individual under age 21.  

A sterilization will be covered under the Program only if the following conditions are 
met:  

• The individual is at least 21 years old at the time consent for sterilization is 
obtained.  

Note: A patient must be 21 years old to give consent to sterilization.  This is a federal 
requirement for sterilizations only and is not affected by any other State law 
regarding the ability to give consent to medical treatment generally.  The age 
limit is an absolute requirement.  

  

  There are no exceptions for marital status, number of children, or for a 
therapeutic sterilization.  
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• The individual is not a mentally incompetent individual.  For Virginia 
Medical Assistance Program purposes, a mentally incompetent individual is 
a person who has been declared mentally incompetent by the federal, State, 
or local court of competent jurisdiction for any purpose, unless the 
individual has been declared competent for purposes that include the ability 
to consent to sterilization.  The competency requirement is an absolute 
requirement.  There are no exceptions.  

  

• The individual is able to understand the content and nature of the informed 
consent process as specified in this section.  A patient considered mentally 
ill or mentally retarded may sign the consent form if it is determined by a 
physician that the individual is capable of understanding the nature and 
significance of the sterilizing procedure.  

  

• The individual is not institutionalized.  For the purposes of Medicaid 
reimbursement for sterilization, an institutionalized individual is a person 
who is:  

  

• Involuntarily confined or detained under civil or criminal statute in a 
correctional or rehabilitative facility, including a mental hospital or other 
facility for the care and treatment of mental illness, or  

  

• Confined under a voluntary commitment in a mental hospital or other 
facility for the care and treatment of mental illness.  

  

• The individual has voluntarily given informed consent in accordance with 
all the requirements prescribed in this section.  

  

• At least 30 days, but not more than 180 days, have passed between the date 
of informed consent and the date of the sterilization, except in the following 
instances:  

  

• Sterilization may be performed at the time of emergency abdominal surgery 
if the patient consented to the sterilization at least 30 days before the 
intended date of sterilization and at least 72 hours have passed after written 
informed consent was given and the performance of the emergency surgery.  

  

• Sterilization may be performed at the time of premature delivery if the 
following requirements are met:  the written informed consent was given at 
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least 30 days before the expected date of the delivery, and at least 72 hours 
have passed after written informed consent to be sterilized was given.  

  

• Regardless of the service authorization for the hospitalization, if the invoice 
reflects a sterilization, the claim will pend for Medicaid manual review.  

  

• If the forms are not properly completed, or not attached to the bill, the claim 
will be denied or reduced according to Medicaid policy.  

  

• A completed DMAS-3004, Sterilization Consent Form must accompany all 
claims for sterilization services.  This requirement extends to all providers:   

  

attending physicians or surgeons, assistant surgeons, anesthesiologists, and 
facilities. Only claims directly related to the sterilization surgery, however, 
require consent documentation.  Claims for presurgical visits and tests or 
services related to postsurgical complications do not require consent 
documentation.  

Informed Consent Process for Sterilization  

The informed consent process may be conducted either by a physician or by the 
physician's designee.     

  

An individual has given informed consent only if:  

  

• The person who obtained consent for the sterilization procedure:  

  

• Offered to answer any questions the individual may have had 
concerning the sterilization procedure;  

  

• Provided the individual with a copy of the consent form;  

  

• Provided orally all of the following information to the individual to 
be sterilized;  

  

• Advice that the individual is free to withhold or withdraw consent to 
the procedure at any time before the sterilization without affecting 
the right to future care or treatment and without loss or withdrawal 
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of any federally-funded program benefits to which the individual 
might be otherwise entitled;  

  

• A description of available alternative methods of family planning 
and birth control;  

  

• Advice that the sterilization procedure is considered to be 
irreversible;  

  

• A thorough explanation of the specific sterilization procedure to be 
performed;  

  

• A full description of the discomforts and risks that may accompany 
or follow the performing of the procedure, including an explanation 
of the type and possible effects of any anesthetic to be used;  

  

• A full description of the benefits or advantages that may be expected 
as a result of the sterilization; and  

  

• Advice that the sterilization will not be performed for at least 30 
days, except under the circumstances of premature delivery or 
emergency abdominal surgery, in which case 72 hours must have 
passed between the informed consent and surgery; also, in the case 
of premature delivery, consent must have been given at least 30 days 
prior to the expected date of delivery.  

  

• Suitable arrangements were made to ensure that the information 
specified above was effectively communicated to a blind, deaf, or 
otherwise impaired individual to be sterilized.  

• An interpreter was provided if the individual to be sterilized did not 
understand the language used on the consent form or the language 
used by the person obtaining consent.  

  

• The individual to be sterilized was permitted to have a witness of the 
individual's choice present when consent was obtained.  

  

• The sterilization operation was requested without fraud, duress, or 
undue influence.  

  

• All other State and local requirements were followed.  
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• The appropriate consent form was properly filled out and signed (see 
below).  

  

• Informed consent may not be obtained while the individual to be 
sterilized is:  

  

• In labor or within 24 hours postpartum or post-abortion;  

  

• Seeking to obtain or obtaining an abortion; or  

  

• "Seeking to obtain" means that period of time during which the 
abortion decision and the arrangements for the abortion are being 
made.  

• "Obtaining an abortion" means that period of time during which an 
individual is undergoing the abortion procedure, including any 
period during which preoperative medication is administered.  

The Virginia Medical Assistance Program prohibits the giving of consent to 
sterilization at the same time a patient is seeking to obtain or obtaining an 
abortion.  This does not mean, however, that the two procedures may never 
be performed at the same time.  If a patient gives consent to sterilization, then 
later wishes to obtain an abortion, the procedures may be done concurrently.  
An elective abortion does not qualify as emergency abdominal surgery, and 
this procedure does not affect the 30-day minimum wait.  

• Under the influence of alcohol or other substances that affect the 
individual's state of awareness.  

Sterilization Consent Document  

The only acceptable sterilization consent form is the Virginia Department of Medical 
Assistance Services Sterilization Consent Form (DMAS-3004).  An informed consent 
does not exist unless this form is completed voluntarily by a person 21 years of age or 
over and in accordance with the following instructions.  (See the section titled “Exhibits” 
at the end of the chapter for a sample of the form.)  No payment will be made without 
the submission of this form completed, signed, and dated by the patient giving the 
consent, the person obtaining the consent, and the physician who performed the surgery.  
The date of the signature of the person obtaining an informed consent must be the same 
as the date of signature of the person giving consent.   
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Instructions for completing the form are shown on the next page: 

Instructions for Completing the Sterilization Consent Form (DMAS-3004)  

Ref. 

No. 

 

 Blank  

 

 Instructions  

1 Doctor or Clinic This line may be pre-stamped.  If the provider is a physician group, 
all names may appear (e.g., Drs. Miller and Smith); the 
professional group name may be listed (e.g., Westside Medical 
Group); or the phrase "and/or his/her associates" may be used 

2 Name of Operation If the name of the operation is lengthy, an abbreviation may be 
used with an asterisk.  The full name of the operation should be 
written out at the bottom of the form. 

3 Month, Day, Year Enter the patient's birth date.  This information is required. 

4 Patient name Must be completed.  The name used should be identical to the 
patient name appearing on the claim form. 

5 Doctor May be pre-stamped.  If a group, all names may be listed, or the 
phrase "and/or his/her associates." 

6 Name of Operation Enter the name of the operation.  If the name of the operation is 
lengthy, an abbreviation may be used with an asterisk.  The full 
name of the operation should be written out at the bottom of the 
form. 

7 Signature The patient must sign here.  If the patient is illiterate, the form of 
signature permitted is an "X," which must be countersigned by a 
witness. 

8 Month, Day, Year Patient's signature must be dated.  The waiting period is calculated 
from this date. 

9 Ethnic Designation This information is voluntary and should be completed only by the 
patient. 

10 Language Indicate the language in which the patient was counseled, if other 
than English. 

11 Interpreter's Signature Must be signed if an interpreter was used. 

12 Month, Day, Year Interpreter's signature must be dated. 
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Ref. 

No. 

 

 Blank  

 

 Instructions  

13 Name of Individual Enter the patient's name here. 

14 Name of Operation If the name of the operation is lengthy, an abbreviation may be 
used with an asterisk.  The full name of the operation should be 
written out at the bottom of the form. 

15 Person Obtaining 
Consent 

The person providing sterilization counseling may be a physician 
or the physician's designee (e.g., an office nurse).   Once this 
section is completed, the patient should be given a copy of the 
form. 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

  

   Instructions  

 

16 Month, Day, Year Signature of the person obtaining consent must be dated. 

17 Facility May be pre-stamped. 

18 Address May be pre-stamped. 

19 Name of Patient Enter the patient's name. 

20 Date of Operation Enter the date of the operation. 

21 Type of Operation If the name of the operation is lengthy, an abbreviation may be 
used with an asterisk.  The full name of the operation should be 
written out at the bottom of the form.  Consent is not invalidated if 
the operation actually performed differs from the method of 
sterilization originally planned. 

Ref.  

No.  

  

  Blank    
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22-23 Final Paragraphs Cross-out the paragraph not used.  The minimum waiting period is 
30 days from the date consent was given, except in cases of 
premature delivery or emergency abdominal surgery. 

24 Premature Delivery If this box is checked, a date of expected delivery must be present 
in Item 25. 

25 Individual's Expected 
Date of Delivery 

The date estimated by physician based on the patient's history  and 
physical condition. 

26 Emergency 
Abdominal Surgery 

Indicate the operation performed. 

27 Physician Signature Must be completed after the sterilization operation, by the 
physician who has verified consent and who actually performs the 
operation.  The purpose of obtaining consent "shortly before" the 
operation is to reaffirm consent. This may be done while the patient 
is in labor or after delivery.  In this context, "shortly before" means 
up to 72 hours prior to the operation. 

28 Month, Day, Year The physician's signature must be dated. 

 

  



  
Manual Title  

Physician/Practitioner-Manual  

Chapter  

IV  

Page 

 

 

61 
Chapter Subject  

Covered Services and Limitations  

Page Revision Date  

5/19/2022 

Use of the Sterilization Consent Form  

The consent form must be signed and dated by the following:  

  

• The individual to be sterilized;  

  

• The interpreter, if one is provided;  

  

• The individual who obtains the consent; and  

  

• The physician who will perform the sterilization procedure.  

  
The person securing the consent shall certify by signing the consent form that he or she:  

  

• Advised the individual to be sterilized, before the individual to be sterilized signed 

the consent form, that no federal benefits may be withdrawn because of the 

decision not to be sterilized;  

• Explained orally the requirements for informed consent to the individual to be 

sterilized as set forth on the consent form and in regulations; and  

• Determined to the best of his/her knowledge and belief that the individual to be 

sterilized appeared mentally competent and knowingly and voluntarily consented 

to be sterilized.  

  

 The physician performing the sterilization shall certify by signing the consent form that:  

  

• The physician, shortly before the performance of the sterilization, advised the 
individual to be sterilized that federal benefits shall not be withheld or withdrawn 
because of a decision not to be sterilized.  (For Program purposes, the phrase 
"shortly before" means a period within 72 hours prior to the time the patient 
receives any preoperative medication.)  

  

• The physician explained orally the requirements for informed consent as set forth 
on the consent form.  

  

• To the best of the physician's knowledge and belief, the individual to be sterilized 
appeared mentally competent and knowingly and voluntarily consented to be 
sterilized.  
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• At least 30 days have passed between the date of the individual's signature on the 

consent form and the date the sterilization was performed, except in the following 

instances:  

• Sterilization may be performed at the time of emergency abdominal surgery if the 
physician certifies that the patient consented to the sterilization at least 30 days 
before he or she intended to be sterilized; that at least 72 hours have passed after 
written informed consent to be sterilized was given; and the physician describes 
the emergency on the consent form.  

• Sterilization may be performed at the time of premature delivery if the physician 
certifies that the written informed consent was given at least 30 days before the 
expected date of the delivery.  The physician shall state the expected date of the 
delivery on the consent form.  At least 72 hours have passed after written informed 
consent to be sterilized was given.  

The interpreter, if one is provided, shall certify that he or she:  

• Transmitted the information and advice concerning the sterilization procedure and 
possible complications orally to the individual to be sterilized;  

  

• Read the consent form and explained its contents to the individual to be sterilized; 
and  

  

• Determined to the best of his or her knowledge and belief that the individual to be 
sterilized understood what the interpreter told the individual.  

A copy of the signed consent form must be:  

• Provided to the patient;  

  

• Retained by the physician and the hospital in the patient's medical records; and  

  

• Attached to all claims for sterilization services.  In addition, no sterilization 
procedure will be covered by Virginia Medicaid unless a copy of the 
Department of Medical Assistance Services Form (DMAS-3004) is attached 
to the invoice submitted by each provider, including the surgeon, assistant 
surgeon, anesthesiologist, hospital, or outpatient clinic in order that each claim 
might be evaluated.  The DMAS-3004 is the only consent form that will be 
accepted by Medicaid, and no payment will be made without submission of 
this form by each provider involved in the sterilization procedure. Only claims 
directly related to the sterilization surgery, however, require consent 
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documentation.  Claims for pre-surgical visits and tests or services related to 
post-surgical complications do not require consent documentation.  

Claims for Service  

Any claim submitted without a properly-executed consent form or documentation showing 
medical necessity will be pended.  If appropriate information is not received within 30 days 
of the request for the information, the claim will be denied.  The originating physician is 
required to supply a copy of the DMAS-3004 to other billing providers.     

CPT/HCPCS Sterilization Procedure Codes  

  

00851  Anesthesia for intraperitoneal procedures in lower abdomen, including 

laparoscopy, tubal ligation/ transection  

00921  Anesthesia for procedures on male genitalia (including open urethral procedures); 

vasectomy, unilateral or bilateral  

54690  Laparoscopy, surgical; orchiectomy  

55250  Vasectomy, unilateral or bilateral (separate procedure), including postoperative 

semen examination(s)  

55450  Ligation (percutaneous) of vas deferens, unilateral or bilateral (separate 

procedure)  

  

 58565    Hysteroscopy Sterilization  

58600  Ligation or transection of fallopian tube(s), abdominal or vaginal approach, 
unilateral or bilateral  

58605   Ligation or transection of fallopian tube(s), abdominal or vaginal approach, 
postpartum, unilateral or bilateral, during same hospitalization (separate 
procedure)  

58611   Ligation or transection of fallopian tube(s) when done at the time of cesarean 
delivery or intra-abdominal surgery (not a separate procedure) List separately in 
addition to code for primary procedure.  

58615     Occlusion of fallopian tube(s) by device (e.g., band, clip, or Falope ring), vaginal 
or suprapubic approach  

58661  Laparoscopy, surgical; with removal of adnexal structures (partial or total 
oophorectomy and/or salpingectomy)  

58670 Laparoscopy, surgical; with fulguration of oviducts (with or without 
transection)  

58671 Laparoscopy, surgical; with occlusion of oviducts by device (e.g., band, clip, or 
Falope ring)  

 58700     Salpingectomy, complete or partial, unilateral or bilateral (separate procedure)  
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58720    Salpingo-oophorectomy, complete or partial, unilateral or bilateral (separate  

        procedure)  

Retroactive Coverage  

Providers are reminded that sterilization is covered only if all applicable requirements are met 
at the time the operation is performed:  

• The requirements related to the time period required between the date of informed 
consent and the date of sterilization;  

  

• The informed consent requirements for the individual to be sterilized; and  

  

• The certification requirements for signatures of the individual to be sterilized, the 
interpreter (if applicable), the person obtaining consent, and the physician who 
performed the sterilization procedure that must be present on the DMAS-3004.  

  

If a patient obtains retroactive program coverage, previously provided sterilization services 
cannot be billed unless the applicable requirements have been met.  There are no exceptions 
made for retroactive eligibility in regard to the requirements for sterilization.  

Surgery for Morbid Obesity  

Refer to Appendix D of the Physician/Practitioner Manual.  

VACCINES  

Routine immunizations including annual influenza vaccinations are covered for members 
under the age of 21 as part of the EPSDT program (see Section on Vaccines for Children for 
further information). Vaccine counseling is covered for EPSDT-eligible members (see 
EPSDT Supplement B).  Immunizations for individuals 21 years of age and older who are not 
covered by Medicaid Expansion are limited except for instances when:  

• It is necessary for the direct treatment of an injury, such as tetanus vaccinations 
or  

• The immunization is a pneumococcal or influenza vaccination given as part of 
a plan of treatment.  

.  
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VACCINES FOR CHILDREN PROGRAM  

The Vaccines for Children (VFC) Program is a federal program established in 1984 to help 

raise childhood immunization rates in Virginia. VFC provides federally purchased vaccine, at 

no cost to health care providers, for administration to eligible children.  As part of the Early 

and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic and Treatment (EPSDT) Program, childhood 

immunizations and annual influenza vaccinations are covered according to the most current 

Advisory Committee for Immunization Practices (ACIP) schedule.   

To be eligible for free vaccines from the VFC Program, children must be under the age of 19. 

VFC-eligible individuals must also meet one of the following criteria:  

• Medicaid/FAMIS PLUS, enrolled, including Medicaid MCOs,  

• Uninsured (no health third party insurance),   

• Native American or Native Alaskans (no proof required) and  

• Underinsured (those whose insurance does not cover immunizations).  

Requirement to Enroll in VFC  

To participate, a provider must complete the enrollment and provider profile forms provided 
by VDH.  At this point, the provider is eligible to receive free vaccines under the VFC.  

Upon enrollment, the Department of Medical Assistance Services will not reimburse the 
provider for the acquisition cost for vaccines covered under VFC.  Medicaid will reimburse 
providers the administration fee for routine childhood vaccines that are available under VFC 
(up to the age of 19).  Medicaid will reimburse the provider an administration fee per injection.  

Billing Codes for the Administration Fee  

Providers must use Medicaid-specific billing codes when billing Medicaid for the 

administration fee for free vaccines under VFC.  These codes identify the VFC vaccine 

provided and will assist VDH with its accountability plan which CMS requires.  The billing 

codes are provided in the Current Procedural Terminology (CPT-4) books.  

Billing Medicaid as Primary Insurance  

For immunizations, Medicaid should be billed first for the vaccine administration.  This is 

regardless of any other coverage that the child may have, even if the other coverage would 

reimburse the vaccine administration costs.  Medicaid will then seek reimbursement from 

other appropriate payers.  When a child has other insurance, check “YES” in Block 11-D (Is 

there another health benefit plan?) on the CMS-1500 claim form.    
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Reimbursement for Children Ages 19 and 20  

Since Medicaid policy provides coverage for vaccines for children under the age of 21, and 
VFC provides coverage only under the age of 19, there may be instances where the provider 
will provide immunizations to children who are ages 19 and 20.  Bill Medicaid with the 
appropriate CPT/HCPCS code and Medicaid will reimburse the acquisition cost for these 
vaccines.  Medicaid will not reimburse an administration fee since these vaccines were not 
provided under the VFC Program to this age group.  

VFC Coverage of Other Vaccines 

The VFC program covers all vaccines in the ACIP immunization schedule, including 
indications for when a single-antigen vaccine that is normally part of a combination vaccine 
may be medically appropriate. Claims for single-antigen vaccines normally part of a 
combination vaccine will automatically pend for review by DMAS staff. 

Vaccines Not Available Under VFC  

The Virginia Department of Health has no contracts with the Centers for Disease Control 
(CDC) for the VFC distributor to provide Diphtheria Tetanus and Pertussis (DTP) and 
Hepatitis B for dialysis patients.  Therefore, Medicaid will reimburse for the acquisition cost 
for these vaccines under CPT codes 90701 and 90747, respectively.  No administration fee 
will be reimbursed under code since this vaccine is not available under VFC.  

Situations Where Vaccines Are Not Covered Under VFC  

There may be some situations where a child is attempting to “catch-up” on vaccines that have 
been missed.  In some cases, the VFC program will not provide coverage for these “catch-up” 
vaccines, and the provider will have to purchase them from his or her normal vaccine 
distributor.  If this occurs, Medicaid will continue to reimburse the provider for the acquisition 
cost of these vaccines as long as there is information attached to the claim indicating the reason 
for billing Medicaid for the acquisition cost.  In addition to the attachment to the claim, use 
modifier 22 in Block 24-D of the CMS-1500  claim form.  

Vaccines Provided Outside of the EPSDT Periodicity Schedule  

Virginia Medicaid covers childhood immunizations under the Early and Periodic Screening, 
Diagnostic and Treatment (EPSDT) Program based upon a periodicity schedule.  This 
schedule was developed by the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP) and 
the American Academy of Pediatrics along with representatives from the American Academy 
of Family Physicians.  See Supplement B - EPSDT for a copy of the immunization schedule.  
If the provider provides a vaccine to a child that falls outside of this immunization schedule 
and the vaccine does not meet the criteria for coverage under the VFC Program, Medicaid 
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cannot reimburse for immunizations unless documentation is sent along with the claim to 
explain the circumstances under which the vaccine was provided.  In addition to the 
attachment to the claim, use modifier 22 in Locator 24-D to bill Medicaid for the acquisition 
cost.  

Questions  

For questions relating specifically to the VFC program, call the Virginia Department of Health 
Hotline at 1-800-568-1929.  The VDH Hotline is available Monday through Friday from 7:00 
a.m. to 5:00 p.m.  For other questions, call the Medicaid HELPLINE.  

Orthotics  

Please refer to Appendix D in the Physician/Practitioner provider manual.  

Rehabilitation Program  

Items made for the member by an occupational therapist, including splints, slings, and any 
normally stocked supplies, are part of the cost of the Medicaid-approved rehabilitation visit.  
These ancillary charges are not reimbursed separately for Rehabilitation Agencies.  

Intensive Rehabilitation  

Please refer to Appendix D, in the Rehabilitation Provider Manual.  

EPSDT (Children Under 21 Years of Age)  

Children do not have to be enrolled in Children’s Specialty Services to receive orthotics.  All 
medically necessary orthotics are covered for children under the age of 21 years.  The orthotist 
participating as a Medicaid DME provider coordinates the completion of the DMAS-352 
(CMN) with the prescribing physician using the correct HCPCS “L” procedure codes.  Service 
authorization is required and may be submitted to DMAS’ Service Authorization contractor.  
Refer to the Physician/Practitioner Manual, Appendix D.  Documentation of provider cost 
will be required for “L” procedure codes that do not have an established reimbursement 
allowance.  Reimbursement (under HCPCS “L” codes) to the DME orthotic provider is all 
inclusive; no supplemental reimbursement will be made for the time involved in fitting, 
measuring, and designing the orthotic, or for providing the member with instructions for the 
proper use.  

Service Authorization  

Refer to Appendix D of the Physician/Practitioner Provider Manual.  
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REIMBURSEMENT  

Payments for covered services submitted by physicians are based on the individual physician's 
usual and customary fees, within Program limitations.  

Reimbursement for the administration of vaccines/immunizations is included in the office visit 
when a medical service is rendered.  When an immunization is the only service performed, an 
appropriate minimal office visit (e.g., CPT/HCPCS code 99211), may be listed in addition to 
the injection.  When billing for immunizations, only the actual acquisition cost of the 
injectable is to be billed separately using the appropriate CPT/HCPCS code. Special supplies 
beyond those routinely included in the office visit are to be billed reflecting the provider's 
acquisition cost and using the appropriate HCPCS/CPT codes are listed in this chapter.  

When there are extenuating circumstances, individual consideration, if requested, is given to 
additional allowances in compensation.  However, payment by Medicaid cannot exceed the 
Medicare allowance for the same or similar service.  It should be noted that the payment 
allowance for covered professional services includes the necessary administrative services as 
required for the care of a member, i.e., the preparation of records, plan of treatment, and 
certification for services, etc.  Therefore, separate payment, in addition to the professional 
visit, will not be made for these services.  

To request individual consideration, enter "ATTACHMENT" in Locator 10D and procedure 
modifier "22" ("Unusual Service") in Locator 24D of the CMS-1500 (08-05) claim form, and 
attach sufficient documentation to support the claim that is being billed.  

Payment Basis  

Payment for physician services is the lowest of the Program's fee schedule, actual charge, or 
Medicare allowances.  

Payment in Full  

In accepting payment from the Program, a physician must agree to accept Program payment 
as payment in full for all covered services rendered to the patient and billed to the Program.  
The physician may not bill Medicaid or the member for the difference (if any) between the 
allowed charge and the actual billed charge.  The provider may not bill the member for missed 
or broken appointments. The physician must bill any other possibly liable third-party payer 
prior to billing the Program.  The Program will pay the difference between the Program's 
allowable fee and the amount paid by another third party, except for Medicare.  When 
Medicare (Title XVIII) makes a payment for physician's covered services, the physician may 
claim payment of any deductible and coinsurance amounts due from the Program.  However, 
he or she may not claim payment of the difference (if any) between the Medicare-allowed fee 
and his or her actual fee for services.  Also, Medicaid payments for Medicare Part B 
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coinsurance are limited to the difference between Medicaid's maximum fee for a given 
procedure and 80 per cent of Medicare's allowance.  The combined payments by Medicare 
and Medicaid will not exceed Medicaid's allowed charge for that procedure.  

Implementation of a New Physician Fee Schedule  

The fee schedule effective July 1, 1995 was based in many respects on the Medicare Resource 

Based Relative Value Scale (RBRVS) fee schedule. The calculation of RBRVS fees for 

Virginia Medicaid uses Medicare’s Relative Value Units (RVUs) and Conversion Factors 

(CFs), with an additional “budget neutrality” adjustment to ensure that total Medicaid 

expenditures do not increase solely due to the updates to the Medicare fee schedule.  Multiple 

budget neutrality factors by service category are now used.  Starting in 1996, the Medicaid fee 

schedule was updated each January to reflect modifications to the Medicare Relative Value 

Units (RVUs). Effective July 1, 2005, the Medicaid fee schedule is updated each July to reflect 

modifications to Medicare RVUs.  Effective July 1, 2008, the Medicaid fee schedule reflects 

different rates for services depending on the site of service, facility or non-facility, based on 

the relative value units for procedure codes published by the Medicare.  

Adjusting fees for Geographic Practice Cost Indices (GPCIs) is not part of the Medicaid fee 
schedule.  

Medicaid fees will continue to be applied on a statewide basis. All of the payment rules 
adopted by Medicare at the time RBRVS was first implemented and over time have not been 
adopted by Medicaid.  

COPAYMENT REQUIREMENTS  

As required by the Appropriations Act of 1992, the copays are the same for categorically 
needy members, Qualified Medicare Beneficiaries (QMBs), and medically needy members.  
The services and copay amounts are:  

 

 SERVICE  COPAY AMOUNT  

  Inpatient hospital  $100.00 per admission  

   Outpatient hospital clinic  3.00 per visit  

 Clinic visit  1.00 per visit  

SERVICE  COPAY AMOUNT  

Physician office visit  1.00 per visit  

Other physician visit  3.00 per visit  

Eye examination  1.00 per examination  
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Prescription  1.00 for multi-source generic;  3.00 for brand per  
prescription or refill for dates of service on or 
after   

September 1, 2002  

Home health visit  3.00 per day  

Rehabilitation service  3.00 per day  

 

For purposes of copays, a visit is defined as a patient encounter in the place of treatment, by 
the same provider on the same day regardless of the number of procedures performed.  The 
encounter may be indirect.  For example, if on July 15, 2009, the physician in a hospital 
performs an interpretation and report for an electrocardiogram (CPT/HCPCS code 93010) and 
an interpretation and report for an electrocardiogram (CPT/HCPCS code 93018); this would 
be considered one visit and would be subject to a $3.00 copay for a member who was not 
exempt.  If the physician performed one procedure on July 15, 2006, and the other on July 16, 
2009, the procedures would be considered two visits and would be subject to two $3.00 
copays.  

The copays apply to all members except the following:  

• Children under 21 years of age (identified by a Special Indicator code “A” on their 
Medicaid identification cards);   

• Individuals receiving long-term care service or hospice care (identified by a Special 
Indicator code “B” on their Medicaid identification cards); and  

• Individuals participating in health maintenance organizations under the Managed 
Care program.  

The following services are never subject to copays:  

• Emergency services;  

• Members in waivered programs (hospice, LTC, E&D waiver);  

• Family planning services including office visits, drugs and supplies; and  

• Pregnancy-related services (services delivered to pregnant women if such services 
are related to the pregnancy or to any other medical condition which may 
complicate the pregnancy, e.g., prenatal, delivery, postpartum care).  

A provider may not deny services to a member solely because of his or her inability to pay 
any applicable copayment charge.  This does not relieve the member of the responsibility to 
pay nor does it prevent the provider from attempting to collect any applicable copayment from 
the member.  
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MCO/HMO Copayments  

DMAS allows the submission of claims and the reimbursement of the co-payment for 
Medicaid enrollees who have a Managed Care/Health Maintenance Organization 
(MCO/HMO) as their primary carrier.  These claims are submitted on the CMS-1500 (08-05) 
(08-05) claim form.  The following locators would need to be completed, in addition to the 
other required locators as indicated in Chapter V of this manual.  

 Locator 10d – Write “Attachment”  
 Locator 11c – Enter “HMO Copay” 
 Locator 24D – Enter the CPT/HCPCS code that was billed as the primary 

procedure to the MCO/HMO  
 Locator 24F. - Enter the actual enrollee’s co-payment amount as the charged  

amount.  

The Explanation of Benefits (EOB) must be attached to the claim if the billed charge is greater 
than $25.00.  

The billing and reimbursement of the MCO/HMO co-payment does not apply for enrollees in 
a Medicaid MCO/HMO, e.g. Medallion 3.0.   DMAS will apply the Medicaid co-payment 
amounts for enrollees age 21 or up.  Therefore, a Medicaid co-payment will be deducted from 
the MCO/HMO charged co-payment.  Example: Medicaid enrollee with MCO/HMO primary 
insurance may have a $20.00 co-payment for an office visit.  Medicaid’s co-payment for the 
office visit is $1.00.  The Medicaid allowance will be $19.00 for this office visit.  The 
remaining $1.00 should be collected from the enrollee at the time of service.  For electronic 
data interchange (EDI) claims filers; please refer to the EDI companion guide.  Companion 
guides can be found at:  

(https://www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov/wps/portal/EDICompanionGuides).  

MEDICAL COVERAGE FOR NONRESIDENT ALIENS 

Section 1903 of the Social Security Act (42 U.S.C. 1396b), as amended, requires Medicaid 

to cover emergency services for nonresident aliens when these services are provided in a 

hospital emergency room, inpatient hospital setting, or dialysis center.  

  

The medical conditions subject to this coverage may include, but are not limited to, the 
following:  

 Cerebral vascular attacks;  
 Traumatic injuries;  
 Deliveries;  
 Acute coronary difficulties;  
 Emergency surgeries (e.g., appendectomies);  

https://www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov/wps/portal/EDICompanionGuides
https://www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov/wps/portal/EDICompanionGuides
https://www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov/wps/portal/EDICompanionGuides
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 Episodes of acute pain (etiology unknown);  
 Acute infectious processes requiring intravenous antibiotics;  
 Fractures; and  
 End-stage renal disease.  

To be covered, the services must meet emergency treatment criteria and are limited to:  

 Emergency room care;  
 Physician services provided in a covered location;  
 Inpatient hospitalization not to exceed limits established for other 

Medicaid members;  
 Services provided at a dialysis center for renal dialysis;  
 Ambulance service to the emergency room or hospital; and  
 Inpatient and outpatient pharmacy services related to the emergency 

treatment.   

Hospital outpatient or inpatient planned procedures, outatient diagnostic testing, follow-up 
visits or physician office visits related to the emergency care are not included in the covered 
services. Emergency treatment of a medical condition does not include care and services 
related to either an organ transplant procedure or routine prenatal or postpartum care. 
Sterilization is not a covered service. Note: With the implementation of DRG payment 
methodology, the facility can remove both the associated charges for the sterilization 
procedure and ICD- Sterilization Procedure Codes. Do not include the specific sterilization 
procedure code on the claim. This will allow payment for the labor and delivery.  

  

LABOR AND DELIVERY SERVICES  

  

Departments of Social Services can certify and enroll clients for non-resident alien services 
for labor and delivery only.  These cases do not have to be sent to DMAS for certification. 

  

Criteria that would have to be met for the local DSS office to certify:  

  

The inpatient admission date and delivery date are the same and the discharge date is 
within the allowed three days for a vaginal delivery and five days for a Cesarean 
section delivery.  

  

The inpatient admission date is one day prior to the delivery date (client is admitted in 
labor and delivers the next day) and the discharge date is within the allowed time 
frame.    

  

Note:  The length of stay calculation does not consider the discharge date and DMAS does not 
pay for the discharge day,  

  

Verification of the labor and delivery services must be from the facility or the attending 
physician and contain the following information:    
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 Patient name, address and date of birth  

 Facility name and address where the delivery occurred  

 Type of delivery (vaginal or cesarean) indicated  

 Inpatient hospital admission date  

 Dates of service for inpatient hospitalization  

  

DSS REQUEST FOR CERTIFICATION  

  

Local departments of social services determine the eligibility of the nonresident alien to 
receive emergency Medicaid coverage based on normal eligibility criteria. Referrals to the 
local social services agency may come from the provider or from the nonresident alien.  
 
The Emergency Medical Certification form can be found in the Exhibits section at the end of 
Chapter III.  All emergency medical certification requests must be submitted with this form.  
No modifications to this form are permitted.  
 
DMAS will review the documentation submitted by the local department of social services 
and determine if the medical condition is an emergency.  Required documentation includes 

 Emergency room records 
 History and Physical 
 Discharge Summary 

 
DMAS will complete the certification section of the form and indicate dates of coverage. If 
all necessary documentation is not received, the entire request will be sent back to the social 
services agency with a cover form noting the information needed. Each hospital admission or 
medical encounter must be submitted with its own certification form. Do not send multiple 
requests with one form. 
 
The applicant must have a current, or pending application in the Virginia Case Management 
System (VaCMS) before the emergency medical certification is sent to DMAS for review. 

  

If the member is found eligible and the emergency service coverage is approved by DMAS, 
each provider rendering the emergency care will be notified via the Emergency Medical 
Certification Form of the member’s temporary eligibility number, the conditions for which 
treatment or services will be covered, and the dates for which the eligibility number is valid.  
Coverage for nonresident aliens is valid only for the conditions and time stated on this form.  
This form will also be used to notify providers that a nonresident alien is not eligible for 
emergency certification 

  

SUBMISSION OF CLAIMS FOR NONRESIDENT ALIENS 

To submit a claim for these approved emergency services for a nonresident alien:  
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 Complete the appropriate Medicaid billing form (and any other required forms) in the 
usual manner.  

 Attach a copy of the completed Emergency Medical Certification Form to the invoice.  
Other relevant documentation to justify the approval has already been submitted and 
reviewed and therefore, does not need to be duplicated with this claim.   

 Submit the claim to Medicaid to the appropriate post office box, listed below:  

 

Department of Medical Assistance Services  

PO Box 27443  

Richmond, Virginia 23261-7443  

  

Note:  The same procedures apply for adjusted or voided claims.  

  

All claims for nonresident aliens will pend for certification to verify that they were related to 
the emergency situation which has been approved.  All claims not related to the emergency 
treatment will be denied.  The documentation for a denied claim will be kept by Medicaid for 
180 days from the date of receipt to allow for the appeal process for those services which are 
not approved.  
 

OUTPATIENT DIALYSIS SERVICES FOR NONRESIDENT ALIENS  

Outpatient dialysis services for nonresident aliens is a covered service for treatment of a 
medical condition so long as absence of immediate treatment for that condition could 
reasonably be expected to result in one of the three consequences: placing the patient’s health 
in serious jeopardy, serious impairment to bodily functions, or to serious dysfunction of any 
bodily organ or part.  The absence of outpatient renal dialysis can reasonably be expected to 
result on one of these three consequences.  

  

DMAS can authorize a maximum of 12 months of out-patient dialysis services based on a 
physician’s treatment plan stating the number of visits needed per week.  This treatment plan 
must also contain the begin date of the dialysis and the patient’s diagnosis.  This treatment 
plan must be signed by a physician.  The local social services agency will submit this 
documentation to Medicaid for approval of the coverage of treatment and for establishment of 
the time for which this coverage will be valid.     

  

At the end of the 12 months it will be necessary to recertify the client with DMAS by sending 
an updated physician’s plan of treatment with the Emergency Medical  

Certification Form.    

  

Eligibility for non-resident alien members receiving dialysis is limited to routine outpatient 
dialysis services.  Members who have additional services that are not directly related to 
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dialysis services (emergency room visits, planned outpatient hospital services, inpatient 
admission) must have these additional services authorized by DMAS in order to be reimbursed 
by DMAS.   

 

CLAIM INQUIRIES   

Inquiries concerning covered benefits, specific billing procedures, or questions regarding 
Virginia Medicaid policies and procedures should be directed to:  

Customer Services  

Department of Medical Assistance Services  

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300  

Richmond, VA 23219  

A review of additional documentation may sustain the original determination or result in an 
approval or denial.  

Telephone Numbers:  

  

1-804-786-6273  Richmond Area and out-of-state long 

distance  

1-800-552-8627  In-state long distance (toll-free) 
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EXHIBITS  

Please use this link to search for DMAS Forms:   

https://vamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov/provider/forms 
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